Latham

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/03/2019 - 24/03/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Currently, I work for the government in a role where I assist vulnerable individuals in the U.S. who have HIV get healthcare. I have masters degrees in public health and social work, so I would love to be able to use those skills abroad. I spent ~2 years in Kenya with the Peace Corps doing various public health outreach projects. I'm also somewhat familiar with and enjoy carpentry/building - I worked as a construction supervisor with Habitat for Humanity for a year and spent about 8 months with a commercial remodeling company...but those were some years ago. I'd really enjoy helping build for a nonprofit and I still have basic skills, but I also don't want overstate my abilities! I'm passionate about service (hence WorkAway instead of just traveling), the environment, health, and learning. I have basic Spanish skills and would like a chance to practice the language.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Building/construction, public health (especially infectious disease, nutrition, physical activity), social work

  • Languages spoken

    English, Basic Spanish, Basic Swahili

  • Age

    34

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback