L8starter

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2021 - 01/02/2021

  • Badges


  • Description

    I love being retired and having grandchildren but enjoy making the most of my freedom and wanderlust. I love finding HelpX/Workaway/WWOOFING/FindaCrew placements for the way they help me interact with a place and give me a richer experience of a nation. I particularly enjoy connecting with people and environments which may challenge my thinking or teach me something.

    I have a passion for remoteness and the people who live there but also love city life and choose to live in a city at home. I prefer visiting out of season and try to avoid tourist areas preferring to meet local people.

    I am reasonably physically active, enjoying walking, cycling and year round wild swimming.
    I have spent most of my life as a teacher working with the disaffected and excluded sectors of society. I cook well, preferring to eat vegetarian or vegan (I would struggle to eat meat these days).
    I make art textiles from recycled fabrics and can spin and weave simply.
    I grow my own vegetables and know something of permaculture having learned when wwoofing in Australia.

    I volunteer in my home town for the local Art Centre and Theatre as well as many Music Festivals around the country.

    Recent Experiences
    September 2019 Suffolk, UK. House sitting, looking after AirBnB guests and and petsitting.
    January 2018 Austria 2 months house/cat sitting.
    September-December 2017 Orkney. HelpX general clearing/cleaning help placement
    September-December 2016 Cornwall Just living somewhere different.
    June 2016 Faroe Islands, wwoofing placement, receptionist, cook, cleaner in a busy guesthouse
    September 2014 Sardinia/Corsica Find A Crew placement, basic level French interpreter on teaching boat

    Over the previous two decades I spent two years working while travelling in Australia, Canada, Finland, Corsica, Sardinia: cooking, waitressing, cleaning, gardening, harvesting, cooking (prawn boat), 'gofer' (camel racing team), recording translations for Sami museum, childcare for Sami reindeer herders, making, cooking and selling tofu, home produce and local crafts.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    cooking, organisational skills, teaching english, recycled textile work, stitching projects, spinning, painting, organic gardening, helping with guests or tourists, managing backpacker hostels, selling. I'll have a go at most things.

  • Languages spoken

    english, french intermed, smattering of forgotten spanish and finnish

  • Age

    63

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I have no dependents. I am financially secure. I don't 'love' animals but don't mind being around or helping care for non demanding livestock. I'm more vegan/vegetarian, not strict but would struggle in a big meat eating household

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

2011 4 hr mountain bike enduro
2011 fresh from the hairdressers, wish i could make it look like this
june 2011 olympic distance triathlon finisher
fun creative collage, ideas for textiles pieces
work in progress, im making a series of rainbow spirals for a quilt
enjoying being on the water in the rain
prague, christmas 2009
sri lanka 2010
iceland 2005
Derry, northern ireland 2004
Faroe Islands 2016

Feedback