Kyra

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Armenia, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/03/2018 - 30/03/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, I`m Kyra!

    I live in Cologne in Germany where I study Social Science. I also took classes in NYC and the Netherlands and currently enjoy doing political work and spend a lot of time with my chaotic & lovable roommates.

    I did horse riding since I was a little girl and was lucky enough to get the chance to care for 1 (at times 2) horse as if it was my own for about 5 years every day, which included a lot of groundwork("my" first horse was too old to be ridden so I did the daily training with him from the ground), lungeing, feeding, mucking out, grooming, taking care of tack (cleaning etc) and also riding -with or without saddle, preferably outside. I also competed in small dressage tournaments and did a little bit of jumping. During holidays on a friend`s farm I was co-driver in horse-carriages, swam with horses & helped out at events that involved several carriages and lots of ponies. I strive to work as horse-friendly as possible and try to use natural horsemanship-methods and be patient and constant whenever I work with animals.

    In my teenage years I had a side job at an animal hotel which consisted mainly of dogwalking and taking care of small animals. I love dogs and wish I could have my own, but sadly that would be irresponsible as I am a student with a small room in the middle of a big city.

    During my first workaway experiences, I got the chance to enjoy a basic but very nice and calming way of living on horse-farms, got the chance to work with incredible persons from all over the world, met so many lovely animals and saw stunning landscapes -sometimes adventure only begins where the WiFi-connection ends!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Animal care; especially horses: grooming, mucking out, cleaning tack, groundwork, lungeing, riding (classical english style but also got to ride gaited horses, bit of jumping and most of all I enjoy being outside & to hack through the countryside), help with young horses, help with carriages.
    I`m also experienced in dog walking & a bit of dog training.

    I am used to share everything with roommates and can organize myself and my own household but I am also happy to be integrated into family life.

  • Languages spoken

    German(mother tongue), English(fluent), basic spanish & some portuguese

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Photos

hacking with "my" horse in Germany
with a wonderful Paso in Tarragona (Spain)
riding Skyros ponies in Greece

Feedback