Kristen

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/03/2020 - 28/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Kristen! I've long planned on heading to NZ for work on wineries and farms, and now, after far too many years of working on my laptop day in and day out, the time has come! I'm eager to get my hands dirty doing whatever needs to be done, and enjoying the scenery that the regions of NZ have to offer.
    I love cooking, hiking, reading, and attending concerts.

    During my Workaway adventures, I'd really like to...

    * Garden!
    * Work on wineries (especially helping with the growing/harvesting/production processes). Honestly, I'm still learning when it comes to wines, but I'd love to learn as close to the source as possible.
    * Learn about sustainability/eco-tourism
    * Learn about running an inn/bnb/airbnb (I'd love to own/run one in my lifetime)
    * Work in cafes. I love coffee and food, but it's been a while since I've baristad/worked as line chef. I'm eager to get back in there, so if you happen to have a small cafe or restaurant that needs support - I'm your girl!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about: 

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Digital marketing/computers:
    * Blogging
    * SEO (helping your site appear on Google)
    * Social media strategy/posting
    * Promotional strategy
    * Website improvements/optimizations

    Yardwork:
    * Speedy at raking and bagging leaves
    * Planting flowers
    * Weeding
    * General yard work

    House maintenance/building:
    * Painting
    * DIY projects (refinishing furniture)

    Caring for animals: I’ve grown up around animals, mostly dogs and birds. Had a horse and rode for years. I’m lucky that one of my friends has a small farm with all sorts of critters, so I help her with her goats, pigs, and chickens.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    Let me know if there's anything you'd like to know - I'm happy to share!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope!

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Hiking out in Matapouri
Hiking the Pacaya volcano in Guatemala
Making the most of my remote marketing job: Spending the month in Playa del Carmen with a friend/coworker, spending the weekends exploring Tulum.
Baby goats!
Fresh smoothies in Playa del Carmen - visiting with friends I'd met randomly years ago in Vancouver.

Feedback