Yahya Gokcan & Bahar

From: Turkey

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Malaysia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/01/2020 - 01/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a couple from Turkey who loves travelling a lot! Actually we were working as a lawyer and a tax consultant back in Istanbul, Turkey but we left our jobs to explore around Asia for 8 months.
    Being from Turkey, which is a mixture of both European and Asian culture, makes us wonder to know more about both cultures. We had chances to travel around Europe in the past. But this is our first time in Southeast Asia and we wake up every day to new adventures.
    Within the last 2 months, we have visited Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines so far. We think that Workaway is the best way to learn more about the local culture and to meet new people. We enjoy new experiences and we are open to help and learn new skills since we are dreaming about having our own glamping one day in the future back in Turkey.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Gokcan
    - Studied Economics at the university
    - Worked in a well-known international accounting firm for 7 years
    - Experience in photography
    - Basic knowledge of Photoshop and design
    - Speaks Turkish as a native language and also speaks English fluently
    - Experience in gardening since we had a small garden in Istanbul
    - Loves animals (have 3 cats in Turkey)
    - Experience in waitering
    - Volunteering experience (recently volunteered in a rainforest conservation centre)

    Bahar
    - Studied Law at the university and also has a Master's Degree
    - Worked in a Law Firm for 5 years
    - Before corporate life, worked a waitress in a well-known bar in Istanbul
    - Worked as a librarian for 4 years while studying at the university
    - Teaching skills (provided private lessons to other Law students)
    - Experience in photography
    - Speaks Turkish as a native language and also speaks English fluently
    - Loves animals (have 3 cats in Turkey and had a dog in the past)
    - Volunteering experience (recently volunteered in a rainforest conservation centre)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Age

    32 & 30

  • Nationality

    Turkish

  • What else ...

    - We love snorkelling and want to learn diving during our trip in Southeast Asia.
    - We are both competitive backgammon players. We are also challenging in card games and board games!
    - Bahar was playing volleyball in the school team.
    - Bahar was playing Piano and Cello and she wants to develop herself.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback