Kirran

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Monaco, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/02/2020 - 21/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! I'm a freelance writer, artist and radio producer. I'm from Yorkshire, England but I'm currently travelling around Europe to explore and improve my language skills. I'd like to take part in language exchanges and immerse myself in other cultures and ideas. Happy to meet and coordinate with other workawayers / travel buddies.

    I'm also interested in humanitarian work, animal welfare, eco-projects and sustainable living. I am an advocate for the protection and conservation of our environment, and I have been producing and leading workshops and radio programmes, to draw attention to the impact of climate change on the global south and Indigenous communities.

    I practise yoga regularly, love to hike, cook nutritious food, meditate, sing and dance, explore old towns and architecture, paint, draw and read as much as possible.

    I'm looking to meet new people, share adventures, step out of my comfort zone, learn about other cultures, learn new languages, open myself up to new experiences and challenge myself with solo travel.

    **Please note - I am travelling and at workshops throughout February, so it may take me a few days or more to reply to emails. Thank you**

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can teach English (reading, writing, speaking).

    I can teach and share mindfulness, meditation, yoga, pilates and some tai chi. I am also trained in counselling and can teach co-counselling.

    I cook good vegetarian curries but also love to make chilli and stews with locally-sourced fish where possible. I like to make salads interesting and lively.

    I have business administration experience, am good at planning and organising, can help with computers and IT (both PC and Mac), and book keeping / finances. I have also worked as an Art History International Tour Manager and I'm very adaptable to new situations and environments.

    I can help look after animals - I particularly love cats. I have also volunteered with an eco-community in the past and can help with gardening projects or growing vegetables.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native speaker). Basic French and Spanish, learning Urdu and Arabic

  • Age

    34

  • What else ...

    I have a sunny personality and varied interests. I am a very respectful house guest and keep my living environment clean and tidy. I enjoy cooking together with friends and also doing a bit of amateur DJ'ing to get people dancing!

    Please note - I work freelance so sometimes I will need to bring my work with me on my travels : up to 2 hours a day for my own work when required - but I am flexible and my main priority and aim is to integrate in to the daily life and rhythms of my hosts and learn about other cultures :-)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but I limit my dairy intake.

Photos

Feedback