Khaled & Anya

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/07/2019 - 25/11/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi I am Khaled from Palmerston North New Zealand, I have lived in Palmerston North my whole life. Palmerston North is a small city located in the middle of the North Island with a population of approximately 100 thousand people, it is roughly a two hours drive from the Capital city, Wellington. Throughout my teenage years I attended an all boys high school called Palmerston North Boys High. I believe my experience there was positive as it helped shape my manners as it was based on a very traditional way of teaching. Despite this I would consider myself to be a very open minded person which is why I am seeking to travel to find new experiences and understand different cultures. My hobbies include, skateboarding, playing computer games and playing football (soccer). My favourite subjects at school were History and English, as I come from an English teacher background the subject seemed to click more than others and I have a passion for writing with detail. My only current travel experience has been with my Mum in mid 2018. We stayed in Shanghai for 3 months and I believe this helped become a more social person as I was forced to go out in a foreign environment and make friends. I met my girlfriend Anya in August 2018, through talking about my brief travels in Shanghai and sharing our interest in exploring the world.

    Hi I’m Anya, I was born in the UK and travelled the world with my family when I was 4 years old, my parents saw how beautiful New Zealand was and decided to move there. Since then I have been living in Palmerston North. Growing up I was involved in a lot of creative activities such as the performing arts - choirs and musicals, being up on stage gave me that adrenaline kick while also improving my singing voice and confidence. I also enjoy anything artsy, I love to paint and draw which also lead me to drawing fashion designs. I now know how to sew which allows me to bring my designs to life. I love showcasing my art and garments to my friends and family, I sometimes even sew or paint things for them too. I hope to study fashion design in the future and experiencing the world will broaden my creativity and knowledge. Although New Zealand is an exciting and beautiful country it is familiar, I am excited to travel and experience new cultures. I want to learn new things about the world around me but also more about myself, to broaden my horizons and make new connections.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Khaled:
    I have worked temporary labour jobs for around 3 months in New Zealand.
    Including factory work at a concrete manufacturing company, and also furniture relocation services.
    I am now working with a cleaning company, cleaning at a University building and preparing it for the next day.
    This kind of work has allowed me to become more competent with every day tasks and helped with my ability to adapt to a new work structure.
    Anya:
    I have been working at a trampoline park as a manager for a year. This job has taught me to handle responsibility and a range of different tasks such as dealing with staff, stock take and cleaning. This job means that I am always working a lot around children and have a lot of young cousins who I am able to care for. I am not afraid to get stuck in with any tasks that may require labour, as I have had previous experience helping renovate my family home with my father. I enjoy helping around the house including cooking meals occasionally.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    19 & 20

  • What else ...

    Some board games we like to play are Chess, Cards and Cluedo. Anya likes to play instruments aswell. Any sporting and outdoor activities we both love to be apart of.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Khaled doesn't eat pork.

Photos

Feedback