Kersten & Donald

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/09/2019 - 03/10/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    UPDATE***08/09/19
    My husband Donald has now joined me for the last few months of travel. We are currently in Spain heading to Morocco for a week then heading back to Ireland or UK at the end of this week. Looking to work for 2 weeks together in either of these places in the countryside.
    Donald is very fit and your typical NZ handyman having helped our builders build 3 houses and renovate 1. He has recently been building and guiding tramping clients in the NZ great outdoors.
    We are both happy to turn our hands to anything and love s challenge!!

    April 2019
    Greetings from New Zealand
    I am great believer that there are windows in life for everything so I am grabbing this opportunity for another period of extended travel.My husband and I are used to a busy, noisy, hospitable house with 3 children, lots of friends and relatives staying and a big garden that I love working in. As the children are now leaving home I find that this is one of our windows. It is so exciting to be looking on this site and imagining all the possibilities!! I will be travelling on my own and am not set on where I want to go as I feel the job/host family profile will dictate where I am drawn to.Hence I have ticked lots of countries.
    I am very friendly, enthusiastic, relaxed and positive. I love the outdoors and prefer smaller country places to cities for an extended period of time. 3 years ago we spent a month in South Africa and Kenya. This had been a lifelong dream as we are both avid Wilbur Smith fans!! Prior to this a friend and I had a fortnight in Tibet. It was a very last minute purchase and was the first time both of us had had an extended holiday without children. Utter bliss sums it up!! No stress and no responsibilities. Our biggest worry was what to wear and what to have for breakfast!!In the summer I spend a lot of time in/on the water as my family loves snorkelling, kayaking, boating and swimming. I am used to basic living as we do a lot of camping and tramping.
    I feel I can turn my hand to anything as I have had a wide variety of jobs. At present I have an awesome job in a primary school (children aged 5-11). I am receptionist, 1st aider and comforter to 240 children, I pay the accounts and taxes, take the children swimming at lunchtimes and organise things behind the scenes to help ensure things run smoothly for the teachers. They have very kindly given me 6 months off work so that I can travel and meet lots of lovely new people. Before this I owned a gift shop for 8 years and prior this I worked with a tree crops consultant
    doing all the office duties and helping out with planting, managing the tree supply requirements and harvesting a variety of olives/nuts in the busy season.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I enjoy meeting and interacting with people of all ages and nationalities. In New Zealand our main language is English and I would be very happy conversing with my host families if they want me to help with their English.
    I have great inter personal skills which is why I gravitate to jobs that are customer service based. Because of my love of hosting and entertaining I am a confident cook and housekeeper.
    Seeing children's joy with the simple things in life makes me happy and I enjoy sharing the exploration of the outdoors and my love of books with them. I have a current first aid certificate and am police vetted.
    I am very proud of my garden which I do on my own including the chain sawing of branches and painting of fences. We have built three houses and renovated one. This involved a lot of sanding, painting, landscaping and cleanup.

  • Languages spoken

    I am English speaking and in the past have worked with Japanese students to improve their English.

  • Age

    53 & 55

  • What else ...

    I enjoy tennis, watersports, reading tramping and socialising.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback