Kelly & Mats

From: United Kingdom & Norway

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/12/2019 - 22/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    345

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! Hei!
    We are Kelly and Mats - an English and Norwegian couple that met in Australia :) Together we make a great team - we're fun-loving, adventurous, realistic, curious and always up for learning new skills. We're less like a "two-becomes-one" and more like a "two individuals walking side by side" kind of couple.
    Kelly:
    Over the past few years I have dabbled in many different things and have ventured to many new places. For a couple of years I worked as a chalet host/walk organizer/ski host in the Italian Dolomites and parts of Spain.
    It was then in 2015 that I decided to make a change - I studied towards my TEFL qualification and moved to Beijing to work as a fully-fledged English teacher, where I spent 14 incredible months teaching and travelling.
    From there, I flew straight to Australia in time for a friend's wedding, and ended up staying for one year (which is when I met Mats!). During this time I worked on a cattle station, helped run the best hostel in Australia, and at a quirky cafe.
    I'm a keen writer and have been keeping a blog for over 4 years. I also work online, which has become my main source of income. I mainly focus on writing content, but I also have experience with website design and photoshop. As I only work a few hours here and there it won't get in the way of workaway projects :)
    In my free time I love to hike, cycle, meditate, read etc etc etc. My latest interest is learning how to hoola hoop!
    Mats:
    Most of my work experience has been physical labour, retail and hospitality, and I've also worked as a mathematics teacher for a few months in Norway as part of my studies. Also dwelled into life modelling which I really enjoyed.
    During the Bundy summer I tested my limits on a small family run farm for 3 months which gave me some of the best (and worst) experiences from the country. I also did housekeeping and part time managing in my all time favourite hostel in Alice Springs for 6 months (where Kelly and I met!).
    I've always been active, whether it's running, hiking, skiing, rock climbing or surfing, but I also very much enjoy calm activities and doing absolutely nothing.
    I'm always keen on learning new skills and recently I've been particularly interested in cooking and would like to learn more.
    I try to be a YES-man and always accept a challenge (can be a little competitive hehe).
    As a couple we've travelled extensively and we're now exploring the delights of New Zealand for 1 year. Both of us enjoy meditation - we've both taken part in retreats, including a 10 day Vipassana - and cooking... we're more than happy to cook our hosts and other volunteers a delicious meal!
    Whilst we continue to travel for the forseeable future, we are particularly keen on learning about permaculture, off-grid living and sustainability. Making deep connections with people is important to us, too. There's always interesting and philosophical conversation to be had :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Most importantly we adapt quickly in new surroundings - it starts to come naturally after years of being on the road! With this ever-changing lifestyle we've learnt to get along with people from all walks of life. Communication is incredibly important in every aspect of life, and we consider ourselves to be good at this. We are honest individuals, and we expect honesty and respect in return. Other skills and experience include:
    TEFL (120 hours) qualification
    PADI Divemaster qualified
    Outdoor leadership experience
    Photography (landscape, portrait)
    Diploma in Animal Management
    Power boat level 2 license
    Intermediate skiers
    Norwegian fork lift certificate up to 10 tons
    Sailing experience

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Age

    29 & 32

  • Nationality

    British/Norwegian

  • What else ...

    We are both vegan and are more than happy to rustle up a tasty meal for our hosts (and fellow workawayers).

    Although we may not necessarily have the skills you're looking for, we both pick up new things quickly, mainly because we are very keen learners (it keeps life interesting)! We'd appreciate at least being given the chance to show off our capabilities :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Building straw/earth walls at an off-grid community in Tasmania (workaway)
Constructing an earth pantry - off-grid community in Tasmania (workaway)
Volunteering at a democratic school in India
Volunteering at a democratic school in India
Helping to build a mushroom farm in rural India
Teaching English in a rural Indian village
10 weeks living off-grid in the far north of New Zealand
Fresh out of a 10 day silent retreat

Feedback