Keith & Solei

From: United States & Chile

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 01/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi!
    We are Keith and Solei, a mature and active couple, still in a good shape to give others a hand (or two) to help building your dream, complete a project or anything we have the capacity to collaborate with. Keith thrives on construction and building things, and Solei is great with languages, cooking, gardening and coaching.

    Solei has a BA in Education and Literature from the University of Santiago, Chile. Keith has a degree in Business from the University of California at Berkeley, and an MBA in Sustainability.
    We both love nature and to learn about permaculture, we believe it is possible to restore the Earth or at least stop destroying it by making little sustainable changes. We know it is possible, we have seeing amazing initiatives in South America in terms of natural building or a wise way to use resources. We want to get to know those who are doing the work, participate and celebrate with them and share the experience with others to inspire more people to do the same.

    We are choosing Work Away in order to share with people of the world's cultures, fulfill our passion for travel, and write/blog about the positive earth-friendly changes and lifestyles on the planet.
    We will be: hardworking, responsible, polite, friendly, giving, coherent, organized, and flexible; we give what we would like to receive.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    KEITH
    My skill level is indicated on each.
    Construction -I have worked professionally in the trades off and on between consulting projects. (see photos)
    - Framing, good- including foundation substructure, walls, windows, roof rafters, and sheathing (see Yurt photos)
    - Painting: excellent- brush work for trim and cutting in, professional work in large projects outdoor and indoor.
    -Plumbing: indoor- good
    outdoor- very good: irrigation (designed and installed the irrigation system for 180-acre ranch; hand dug
    and installed well; designed and installed over 30 home garden irrigation systems)
    -Walls; gypsum drywall with compound and taping -good
    - Traditional lath and plaster. (historical restoration) very good
    - Electrical: only running wire, installing outlets. good (I do not hook up to circuit panels)
    - Design: very good -(I designed my own professional 2000 sq ft. office in neo-classical style (see photos)
    - Heavy equipment operations: tractors and backhoes - good
    - Setting up concrete foundation forms; fair minus. (not my strong suit)

    Small business operations and management. I have created and run several small businesses; skilled in planning to budget, and administrative skill set (Google Suite, Microsoft Office with heavy Excel and Word usage)

    I am a Certified teacher as English as a Second Language, (2014 Int. TEFL Academy)

    Instructor of meditation for 40 years.

    SOLEI
    I have a BA in Spanish Education and Literature. I have professionally taught English and Spanish as a Second Language, for over 30 years in NYC, Argentina and online. I can help families to learn a second language in a fun and easy way.
    I can take care of your children, your pets, help with art projects like painting, or pottering, knitting, or craft making.
    Cooking: mostly vegetarian, healthy and delicious dishes, bread making and cookies. I can also show you how to make Chilean and Argentinian empanadas.
    Gardening: From planting to harvesting, growing vegetables and designing an herb garden, maybe adding a pond to your garden?
    I can offer you my services as a spiritual and life coach, assisting in creating changes or getting deeper into your personal journey. My modalities include dreamwork, art therapy, tarot, and runes reading, meditation and breathing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am a TEFL certified English teacher (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) I would also like to learn more Spanish per favore, Italian, and French

  • Age

    68 & 64

  • Nationality

    United States, Chile

  • What else ...

    I have done workaway for 5 months across Europe last year. I am qualified builder...semi professional quality.

    I am travelling solo this winter...Solei is in Argentina.

    I love the travel experience, and singing, and cooking, and hiking, and all the things which make this experience so unique and fun

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback