Katrine

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/09/2020 - 21/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I am an outgoing girl from Denmark, who loves spending time with my friends and family. I absolutely love theatre, and spend a lot of time in the theatre with my friends.
    I really love traveling and learning new languages. I love being introduced to new cultures, and meet new people.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked in a bank for 1,5 years, where it was my responsibility to make sure the offices were ready for meetings, that the mail was posted etc. This kind of responsibility, which was a new experience for me at that point, has taught me to live up to standards, and it was the first time adults depended on me doing my job, to make their daily lives easier.
    When I started high school I started a job at a burger restaurant, where I was often in charge of cooking the burgers, and cleaning and closing up the kitchen. From this job I learned basic skills in a kitchen, and had a lot of responsibility. I worked there for 1,5 years, but then I decided to quit because I had been offered a job in the local zoo, which is where I work now.
    In the zoo I work in the different cafeterias, so I am still cooking burgers, but also so much more. For instance I have way more contact with the park’s guests, as in addition to cooking burgers and fries, it is also my job to work the register, make soft-ice, and make sure the restaurant is clean, and looks nice during the day. At both of my jobs in the restaurant business, I have worked with a lot of colleagues so these jobs have also boosted my skills to work in groups, and share responsibilities with others to most efficiently reach our goals. In addition to my normal tasks at my job, I have been to different workshops and have worked at some of the zoo’s buffet events, as a waitress. From the two jobs in the restaurant business I have also learned how to work under pressure and keep my head clear in stressed situations.
    In addition to my working experience I am a volunteer for the organisation that I went on exchange with in 2016-2017, where I have learned to speak in front of an audience, and help students get ready for a life in another country, with another culture. This is an experience which have matured me, and helped me learn to take responsibility.
    At school I also take a lot of responsibility, both for my own education, but also as the president of the student council.
    Because I have had jobs throughout my high school career, I have taught myself great time management skills, trying to balance school, work, homework, volunteering, and time for friends and family in my daily life.
    I would love to use my work skills at your establishment, learn new skills, and develop the skillset that I already have.


    My parents have always loved to travel, so I have traveled quite a lot as a kid. Experiencing different cultures as a kid is what sparked my interest for different cultures and languages in the first place. I decided to act on this interest in the world, when I went on exchange to the USA in 2016. I lived with a host family for a year, and got insight into the American way of living. I was enrolled in the local high school, and therefore met numerous people who lead lives that were very different from mine. This year also taught me a lot about my own culture, and made me question things, which I had always taken for granted. I think this knowledge about different cultures, and different ways of life is very important, and very exciting and interesting. My exchange experience has opened my mind to other ways of life and I wish to learn more about new cultures that I haven’t yet been acquainted with. Because of my year in the states, I speak English fluently. I have also taken French for 4 years, and wish to learn the language fluently, while also learning more about the French culture. In addition to those two languages I speak Danish fluently, since it is my mother tongue, and I speak a tiny bit of German.
    I think this work exchange program is an amazing way to see other cultures from the inside, and experience things which you can’t find as a tourist.


    I have gone to a Danish primary school, which in Denmark is a 10-year long education. After having completed those ten years, I have studied at an American high school for a year, where I for example studied French, English and history.
    I just graduated from my Danish high school, where majored in English and social science, while I also studied French, history and Danish at the highest offered level.
    After I have graduated high school I wish to take a couple of gap years, where I want to travel the world, and educate myself about other cultures.
    After these gap years I dream of studying dramaturgy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • What else ...

    I am a family person, and also love board games and long talks.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback