Katrien

  • Belgium
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (3)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Spain
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! I am Katrien, 25 years old and I grew up in Antwerp, Belgium.

    Me signing up as a workaway is a (big) step to discovering a new kind of freedom and one step closer to a much wanted adventurous lifestyle.
    After working for three years and getting a taste of the normal adult life I am starting to notice that I want more out of life than the people I've surrounded myself with over the years. I would love to discover what the world has to offer by meeting new people and learning from there mindsets and way of living. Also the idea of working all over the world, wherever help is needed, gets me all excited.

    A little bit more about me:
    After graduating as a kindergarden teacher I started working not only with kids but tried a lot of different professions. In the free time that is left I love going on all kinds of adventures.
    From small ones as camping in the garden to bigger ones as travelling alone through Europe.
    My brother has an outdoor company, me helping him is a perfect excuse for going on small adventures all the time.

    I love learning new things and expanding my skills.
    I consider myself a hard worker and creative, someone who can adapt to many situations.
    I´m up to travel to any country and work hard in any job as long I can feel comfortable where and who I´m with.

    During the summer of 2021I bought myself a small basic van, quited my jobs and by the beginning of September I was ready to go. With winter slowly arriving I decided to drive my way to the south of Spain and Portugal.
    Since I have time I like to expierence every place I stop and there is no limit in how long I can stay there.

    So far I had two wonderfull workaway experiences:
    One with Lou in the Aragonese Pyrenees. For almost five weeks I helped out at her self sufficient house/bed and breakfast. I mainly helped with the household and taking care of the guest.
    One with Ayla in the desert near Cuevas del Campo. I had the opportunity to live in her cavehouse with her while getting introduced to a spiritual and back to basics kind of living. We worked in the garden, cooked our own harvested food, did some construction work,... and so much more.
    Being able to have had this amazing experience only makes me more excited for new Workaway destinations.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
  • More details about your skills

    I think the most important thing to tell here is that I am a quick learner.
    I am a hard worker and not scared at all of getting my hands dirty.
    I find myself pretty handy and creative.

    As a young student I started working and I've had the chance to do a lot of different professions. From selling ice cream to interviewing and hiring students for a big company.
    I love working with people around me as wel as independently.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I've always loved Spanish and hope to be able to understand and speak this beautiful language one day.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    My intrest in nature has evolved to me being a volunteer at a local "plant library", a place where people can come to trade small pieces of there houseplants. Super fun and educational!

    At the moment I am learning an practicing the art of spoon carving.

    I am a full on animal-person. Ever since we got a dog a year ago I am sold to any kind of animal.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback