Katie

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 01/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am a high energy person, looking to learn new things. I love theatre and dancing and music. I love to be outside and have worked as a hiking/nature/canoe guide for a long time. I love to laugh and be silly and to work with people while being outside. A new passion of mine is cooking! In the last few years I have been learning as much as I can about food. I love to eat so why not learn how to cook delicious food!
    My goal for the summer is to find somewhere I can teach yoga and also maybe work in a garden. I am going to be applying for a few yoga therapy programs in the fall when I go home to Canada and I would like to spend the summer teaching and learning and preparing my brain for this!
    Mostly I just love exploring and learning new things. What is awesome about coming to Scotland is my family is Scottish way way back so it would be cool to learn where I come from a long time ago!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a hard worker and I really enjoy learning, so I learn quickly. I am a certified yoga teacher (200 hours) and I love to share this with people. I have been teaching on and off at studios and gyms, but mainly I teach friends and family in a one-on-one setting. I studied theatre at university. I am willing to take on any new challenge or task. I'm great with people and children. In terms of workaway experience, I have worked on a sheep farm in New Zealand (2011), a coffee farm in Colombia (2015), a horse farm in Canada (2017) and I just finished work at an olive farm in Crete (2019).

  • Languages spoken

    English and French and a little Spanish (I want to work on this!)

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Art of all types (theatre, music, dance) has been cropping up a lot over the last few months and it feels like it is time to bring that back into my life in a more concrete way, even as I travel. I am looking for a place where I can hopefully share yoga and participate in art (whatever that looks like). I have so much energy and I want to share it with the world, and hopefully meet some amazing people and learn some new things along the way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I love food and cooking!!!!!

Feedback