Katerine

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Slovenia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/08/2018 - 31/08/2019


  • Description

    Hello, Hola, Hallo,

    ~ I will be in Dominican Republic from May 25th till June 25th ~

    I'm Kate. A wandering teacher lost in the right direction.
    I've taken a one-year (maybe two...) leave from being a secondary school teacher to travel, learn and meet.
    My goal is not so much on seeing places but rather living in places and getting to experience your life.
    I want to hear and see how you do things. Maybe you have turned your life around, maybe you have always lived like this. Either way, I'm interested in understanding why and how it works for you, and I'd be happy to give you my time and energy and be one of the people who made it work for you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    ✅I have good intra and inter personal skills.
    ✅I am a people person.
    ✅I easily take initiatives.
    ✅I can see the big picture.
    ✅I'm responsible and sensible.
    ✅I communicate easily, help facilitate contact between people.
    ✅I usually come up with new ideas on how to do things.

    🛠️I like manual work. If you give me instructions I will do my best! All I need is a teacher. I am not afraid of physical labour.

    🍲 I can cook simple meals and follow recipes.
    👐 I am not afraid to get my hands dirty.

    I have a driver's licence 🚗 (I can drive both manual and automatic)
    I can ride a scooter 🛵, learnt on the steep slippery roads of Thailand.
    I have a master's degree in social anthropology and a teaching degree 👩‍🏫 (+ an experience of 8 years teaching in secondary school)
    I hold a first aid certificate ⛑️
    I'm learning photography📷 , took my first classical dance lessons last year😁, learnt Muay Thai for two months in Thailand🥊 and can carry a basic boxing, stretching and fitness routine
    🐟I'm a newly experienced diver 👌(Stress and Rescue certified).🐠

  • Languages spoken

    ☆ French (native), ☆ English (fluent). ⊙ Intermediate level in Spanish and Dutch. ○ Beginner in German and some Portuguese. □ Interested in Arabic and Thai in the future.

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    I have been traveling on my own since I was 17.

    I have been a scout leader to kids aged from 8 to 12 for 4 years, organizing weekend activities and summer camps in my early twenties.

    I've been an au pair in Switzerland , lived as an exchange student in different families in the US, studied in Portugal as part of the Erasmus program, ...

    I love animals, the outdoors, learning new things, listening to music, reading, playing sports.
    Would love to practice more stretching and learn more about yoga, learn meditation techniques.

    I love learning new things and would like to learn to play an instrument or improve my snowboarding 🏂or mountain biking 🚵‍♀️ limited technique.

    I'm ready for a change in my life and hopefully this trip will help me figure out what and where to next.
    I'm interested in people's experiences of life in general, simply how they may have changed their lives around or just the way they do things and hearing their stories about it.

    What else...I'm a vegetarian. I love tea, colors, fitness clothes, riding bicycles and hiking.

    I seldom drink and don't do drugs.

    I'm a calm extrovert.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Acarid

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a vegetarian�

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more