Katherine

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2020 - 03/05/2023

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    591

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    During the global pandemic I have been fortunate enough to be locked down with 2 fantastic groups of International people, having spent March 2020 - September 2020 taking care of a hostel in San Diego, California and from January 2021 taking care of a hostel (and organising entertainments for residents) in Torquay, England.

    In September 2019 I left my job as a community project and volunteering coordinator to travel the world and have been working in some wonderful places ever since.

    I have a huge amount of experience working with lots of different people in different settings and I love new experiences and getting involved in all things people and community related. Some examples include environmental and conservation projects, coordinating volunteers during the floods in the UK, befriending and arts projects with dementia sufferers and managing a women's and a girls rugby team.

    In 2017/18 I spent time volunteering in hostels in California, a dude ranch in Arizona, house and pet sitting in various parts of the world and various eco and community projects in Colombia and Chile.

    Before i started travelling in 2017 i had also been working part time (in addition to my full time job) with a friend who is in a wheelchair to help her become more independent in her own home, teaching her to cook and garden and help with household tasks and supporting her in her social and work activities.

    I'm very open minded as to the activities i do through workaway. I'd like to meet some great people and have some new and interesting experiences. I would really love the opportunity to get involved in the local way of life (lockdown permitting), seeing local landmarks, nature, animals, joining in activities, and I love doing anything active such as cycling, so anything that keeps me active and busy works for me.

    There's more about me at katibrown.com

    Current Location: Torquay, Devon ENGLAND

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Communication (good listener, clear speaker) people based skills, patience, positive attitude, enthusiasm, a willingness to try new things and get involved.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    36

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback