Kate

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/01/2019 - 30/04/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm Kate, born and bred New Zealander.

    I've just spent a year travelling Europe, mostly soaking up the Mediterranean summer lifestyle. Now I'm back home, with a strong desire to explore my own backyard, my own country.

    In Europe I volunteered with a lot of small farms and eco projects. I was so inspired by these projects that I'd like to start my own one day. Buy a piece of land, grow food and built an eco house. In the mean time I'm learning as much as I can by volunteering on other people' s projects.

    Before travelling I worked as a graphic designer, most recently for Te Papa. I love design and I pick up projects here and there.

    Let me know if you've got an eco project you need help with.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about: 

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Some of the most interesting workaway projects I've done are:
    - Building a straw bale and clay house in Wales
    - Maintaining a permaculture garden and food forest in France
    - Working in an organic home restaurant on the island of Levanzo in Sicily
    - Looking after plants and animals on an organic farm and garden centre on the island of Amorgos in Greece
    - Clearing overgrown land on an off grid site on the island of Vis in Croatia

    I have a bachelors degree in Graphic Design and have worked as a designer for 5 years. I also have skills in sewing, painting, drawing and photography.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback