Karl

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/07/2020 - 08/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I’m a primary school teacher so I have good holidays, especially in the summer. My children are grown ups.
    I have had a varied career, building, gardening, decorating, managing a small estate, finance brokerage, roofing, estate agency, property maintenance... all sorts really. Was even in the RAF. Now I teach 10 yr olds!
    I’m a quick learning, physically fit optimist with a ‘can-do’ attitude. I can’t do everything but I can do quite a lot. I’m not a born perfectionist but I know what looks right. I’m a good DIYer and am quite inventive and resourceful.
    I’m a happy soul, always keen to chat to people and discover new things. I like to travel, have been all over Europe, been to India, Morocco and the States. I spent 6 wks teaching Tibetans English in McLeod Ganj and was blessed by the Dalai Lama at his teachings. I don't believe in any particular religion but respect all of them. Do as you would have done to you is definitely my mantra.
    I’m not fluent in other languages but pick things up quickly, at least enough to get by. It would be great to spend time with like minded people and both help and learn.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I’ve had a varied career. I’m originally a country boy, having grown up in Pembrokeshire, West Wales. My parents were landscape gardeners so I’ve always had that in my life and have at various times migrated back to it. I’ve also worked in property maintenance and property renovation, although I’d say I’m semi-skilled rather than an artisan. I’ve rebuilt chimneys, plastered walls, screened floors, minor carpentry, tiling, painting etc. To give you an idea...I’ve rebuilt patches of walls but never built a whole one! I’m happy dealing with animals, have kept chickens and know one end of a horse from the other. I maintained 5 acres of garden and grew organic vegetables for a Manor House and looked after the home when the owners were away. I've driven tractors, used power tools, looked after pigs, goats and chickens. I’m largely self taught in almost all aspects of domestic d.i.y. But as I said, I’m probably a bit slow and out of practice in some things.
    I’ve also worked in sales, customer facing roles and dealt with advertising and property marketing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    52

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback