Juliet

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/09/2019 - 20/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, I'm a 23-year old from Glasgow, Scotland, who has been in Australia since September. I've spent most of my time in the big cities so I'm ready to spend some more time in the beautiful Aussie countryside! I'm particularly interested in volunteering with a family that has been impacted by this summer's bushfires.

    I am a hard worker - I worked regularly in a part-time job in pharmacy from the age of 15 onwards and continued this during my university degree. I come from a family with two sisters and have regular experience babysitting both of them, in addition to some paid babysitting experience.

    I also really love animals and spending time with them. My family in Scotland have a golden retriever, Carly, who I absolutely adore. I did a Work Away experience in Sunbury, Victoria where I was responsible for looking after 13 animals - birds, dogs and horses (feeding them, walking them, cleaning up after them, spending time with them) and I found it so rewarding.

    Additionally, if you need help with any admin tasks, I have a First Class Honours degree in History & Politics from the University of Glasgow, so my English writing, comprehension and analytical skills are very well-developed.

    Things which I enjoy include exploring new places, going for walks in nature, swimming, yoga, singing and Scottish ceilidh dancing. I'm also a queer/bisexual woman so it is important to me that you are LGBTQ friendly. I am looking to continue making connections and immersing myself in Australian culture as much as possible during my Working Holiday.

    P.S. I don't have my own transport but if you happen to have a spare bicycle that I could borrow as a way to visit nearby places then that would be wonderful!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Excellent spoken and written English (native speaker), strong problem-solving skills, babysitting ability, looking after animals (e.g. dog walking, feeding animals, cleaning living areas). I have also have extensive experience doing house-cleaning and laundry as I have lived independently for five years.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Pet hair, dust, pollen - but none of which prevent me from spending time with animals or in the outdoors! One of my favourite experiences in Australia so far was a Work Away experience where I spent the majority of my time looking after 13 animals

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegetarian, mostly plant-based with dairy/eggs on occasion, so if food is provided then I would love it if some veggie options were available, but I am also more than happy to cook for myself (for instance by using vegetables/tinned tomatoes/beans et

Photos

Feedback