Julie

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/12/2018 - 31/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I’ve worked as an ecologist in Scotland for ten years. I love to be outdoors, work hard and get my hands dirty. In Scotland I do plant, habitat and mammal surveys. My knowledge of Australian flora and fauna is very limited though so i’m keen to learn!
    In the past I was a volunteer leader with a conservation group in Scotland, doing hands on practical habitat work, largely scrub removal.
    I love to work with kids, however it has been several years since I worked with kids as an environmental instructor.
    I’m looking to spend some time with easy going positive people who enjoy being outdoors.

  • Type of help

    Help with Eco project

  • What skills do you have?

    My main skills are in botany (UK). My other skills are basic cooking, cleaning, practical habitat work and previous time teaching kids in environmental fieldwork. I gained a certificate in brushcutting years ago and hold a current first aid certificate in the UK. I drive 4WD for my work.
    It might be helpful to talk about my hobbies at home in Scotland to give you an idea about my transferable skills :)
    The thing I love most about my job is walking and exploring remote areas, navigating across peat bogs, woods, moorland and mountains. I’m a member of an organisation involved in recording mosses and liverworts (significant part of the flora in Scotland as it’s very wet!) and I am the named county recorded for my area. I organised a week long field meeting for bryologists from across the UK, organising accommodation, cooking a meal for the group, overseeing health and safety and planning several upland and lowland sites for survey work. It was a great success. I wrote an article about the meeting which was published in the organisations magazine.
    I’ve delivered workshops and presentations about plants and habitats.
    I’ve recently taken up yoga and meditation which I find really relaxing.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    34

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Prefer veggie diet but not strictly

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more