Juliana & Dennis

From: Austria & Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home


    Animal work&care (also butchery and how to use everything from the animal, if available), Building and construction, gardening, self-sustaining farming

  • Description

    Dennis loves (and is experienced in) building, renovating and making things. However, if he has the choice, he prefers to work with wood. I already learned a lot from him and really enjoy building myself.
    We are both animal lovers and like to work with them and care for them. I am especially into horses and started riding when I was 4 years old.
    We both like physical work and learning new things.
    Whenever we are not building or working on a farm, we earn a living as dive professionals all around the globe.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Dennis studied structural engineering. He has built his own house with interior furniture in Rotterdam. Since 4 years (since we met), I am learning from him and experienced that I am quite skilled at it myself and enjoy it a lot.
    Together we built a garden house, a pergola (both wood), an outdoor kitchen (old bricks) with a huge barbecue (metal), a shower, more furniture, etc...
    He has basic skills as an electrician and plumber.
    We have our own land in Bosnia where we started renovating a traditional, 200 years old house.
    When we make things, they first have to work properly and secondly, also have to look good!
    We have 9 months experience of wwoofing, where we stayed 3 times 3 months on the same farm. The owners, who became very dear friends, also left us alone with the farm a few times to run it ourselves so they can go for holidays. We were responsible for the complete organization of the farm and all the work that comes with it: animal care (pigs, 4 horses, 8 dogs, 6 cats, chickens), cooking, teaching and delegating other volunteers, gardening (planting, harvesting, etc) outside and in greenhouses, repairs when necessary, cleaning, etc
    I started horseback riding when I was 4 years old and by now, I am also experienced in teaching how to ride. Further, I learned how to train horses a bit on the mentioned farm above.
    Before Dennis and I left "normal life" to work as scuba diving professionals and farmers, I studied biology and sports to become a teacher.
    We are both hardworking and work very well together.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    26 & 40

  • What else ...

    We are both outdoor people.
    We like to get up early, have breakfast and start working.
    When work is done, we like to relax, read and/or listen to music. We like to meet new people, share stories and have a good time together. Cardgames are also quite some fun! :) However, we also love to have our private time and be on ourselves for a bit.
    Together we traveled around the globe for quite a bit by now and we are very open to learning and trying new things. Like fishing for example; Dennis did a lot of fishing when he was younger and I would love to learn whenever there would be a possibility.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback