Julia

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/02/2019 - 20/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi my name is Julia and I am from Amsterdam in The Netherlands. I am 23 years old and currently traveling solo around South East Asia for 5 months. A dream finally come true. I traveled a lot but I have never been in Asia. I wanted to go here because Buddhism is something what really interest me. I would like to see how this is a part of the culture and how people practice it. Also I would love to see the nature and learn about other cultures and meet the local people.
    I think workaway is a beautiful way to come in contact with the locals and also help a community. After traveling for 3 months from place to place I notice that I would like to stay longer in one place. I would like to learn something new and be part of a community who works towards a goal together. And where everyone can learn from each other, because everyone has a different background.
    I grew up in Amsterdam, the city with the most nationalities in the world. Growing up in a city, being raised without any religion, traveling a lot, and studying social work are many factors that made me the person I am today. I would describe myself as a quite patient, openminded and independent person. I like to be in groups but also can be easily by myself. In my free time I like to take walks, read, cook vegan food, try yoga, travel, spend times with my friends and try new things.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I have work experience in social work and hospitality.

    I have worked in social work with:
    *️Homeless people who were addicted. We helped them to get more independent and help them to get as much as possible back in to society

    *️Children (age 4-10) at an afterschoolclub.
    Take care and do fun activities with the children. And help them in their progress growing up as nice human beings :)

    *️People with mental problems who suffered from loneliness. I had three "buddies" where I took activities with to help them to get more in touch with the society and help them to get out of their comfortzone.

    I have worked in hospitality as:
    *️A waitress
    *️A cook in a vegan restaurant
    *️A hostess

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat vegan

Photos

Feedback