Please use your browser's back button.

Janek

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/08/2020 - 12/06/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hello Workaway Community!

    My name is Janek, and I live in Bloomington, Indiana. I am an Undergraduate at Brown University studying Environmental Science and English, but I have elected to take a gap year this year because I felt that the pandemic would diminish the quality of my college experience. Instead of returning to campus this fall, I want to find other ways to learn and grow, specifically ones that could not easily be achieved in a traditional classroom setting.
    Since I am interested in Environmental Science, I would be most interested in opportunities that allow me to engage directly with nature and learn more about the ways different people interact with their surroundings. Workaway offers me the perfect chance to engage with natural environments that are far different from my own and with people who are far different from me.
    I am happiest when I'm outside. I enjoy all forms of outdoor activity, but as a mountain-lover, hiking and skiing hold special places in my heart. I am also a soccer player and a huge Arsenal fan, but hosts and workawayers of other sporting persuasions are fine by me too :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I don't have much technical expertise in the areas that I want to work in, though I do have some experience in woodworking. I am fluent in English and German, and know some Spanish as well, so I can offer some help with those languages. Above all, I think my work ethic and enthusiasm for learning make me a great workawayer for hosts who are willing to offer some initial advice and supervision and want to share their stories with an eager and attentive listener. I would be happy to tell you about my own experiences, too, if you're curious as to how I ended up sleeping under your roof.

    EDIT (10/10/20): After completing my first two workaways, I now have some solid experience in field work (weeding, hoeing, harvesting, etc.) and have helped plan weekly deliveries of produce to several households. I also have a little experience in sustainable consctruction (hay insulation, green roof design), and am more comfortable with woodworking. My most recent activity has been at a orchard, helping to harvest, prepare, and package fruit. Some knowledge of how to prepare dried fruit, too.

    EDIT (18/11/20): After completing my first four workaways, I now have significant experience on a dairy farm, working with and cleaning the cows, and cutting and drying grass to produce hay. I am now confident with a chainsaw, have cut down and stored trees, and split firewood for the winter. I also now have some basic understanding of permaculture practice and theory; though I still have much to learn in that area, I would love to find more hosts who have experience in sustainable agriculture and permaculture.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I love to play and learn new card games, and I'll definitely be bringing a deck to each location. Same goes for board games, too. I am an avid writer, and will be spending a fair amount of time recording my experiences as a workawayer.

    COVID-19 Note:
    I know that I picked a sub-optimal time to travel. Given the global pandemic, I understand if you are reluctant to welcome a stranger into your home, especially when that stranger is from a country that is having a tough time limiting the spread of the virus. I do live in an extremely rural and isolated area, and haven't had much contact with people outside my family since March. I am willing to take every precautionary measure you deem necessary before agreeing to host me -- presenting a recent negative test result upon my arrival, maintaining a detailed record of my previous Workaway appointments, quarantining (if possible) for a period after arriving at your home, etc.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Mild Seasonal Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback