John

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Ireland, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2019 - 16/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello
    My name is John. I am 57 years old and have just taken early retirement from London Ambulance Service after 34 years as a Paramedic and Operational Officer. I have made this decision following the very sad death of my beautiful 25 year old son from a brain tumour earlier this year and am looking to start a new chapter in my life.
    I am looking to escape the hustle and bustle of London for a more relaxed way of life.
    I have some experience of assisting on a friend’s dairy farm in Ireland where he also keeps a couple of donkeys and I love working outdoors.
    I would love to learn more about the care of animals and the natural environment.
    My experience working as a Paramedic has taught me how to deal with people of all ages and backgrounds at probably the worst time in their lives and I am confident that I can transfer those skills to animals as well.
    I am comfortable dealing with all situations and remain calm throughout.
    I am happy to work alone but also have vast experience of working as part of a team in an emergency situation.
    I am willing to be flexible with my working hours.
    Please feel welcome to contact me should you require any further information.
    Cheers
    John

  • Interests

    Camping
    Cycling
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Performing arts
    Music
    Cooking & food
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Hello
    I have vast experience of working within a teamwork emergency situation gained from my years as a London Paramedic.
    I understand that people need to be dealt with empathy and listened to and I am sure this the same for animals.
    I also have years of experience as a an Ambulance Officer and am comfortable to take the lead when required.
    I understand the need to be punctual, reliable and enthusiastic in my work and have always strived to continue to learn and improve.
    I am happiest working outdoors in an any weather conditions and would love to work with animals. I love donkeys.
    I have even forgiven the donkey that stamped on my foot and broke my toe many year
    I guess it was my fault for wearing sandals.
    Please feel welcome to contact me should you require any further information.
    Cheers
    John

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    58

  • What else ...

    I enjoy cycling and a few a ago cycled from Land End to John O’Groats in the UK.
    I also enjoy motorcycling, cooking and camping.
    Happy to have a go at anything.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback