Joseph

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Romania, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Spain, Sri Lanka

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/06/2018 - 31/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    298

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    As of July 2019, my travels have taken me from Asia to Europe and now South America. I've been to over a dozen countries so far in the last year of wandering. I've volunteered on an organic rice farm in Malaysia, an olive farm in Italia, hostels around Romania, an independent acting theater in Cluj-Napoca, and an Artist-in-Residence Center near Bogota Colombia. I've harvested and planted. I've set up and torn down sets. I've organized and led workshops. I've shared poetry and writing at open mics. Written for multiple blogs. Created digital content for websites. And I've made more friends than I can count. It's been the best year of my life, and I'm still just getting warmed up!
    What I can offer you:
    HOSTELS
    *️Daily Work(Beds, Cleaning, Painting, etc.)
    *️Cooking family dinners
    *️Selling drinks in the cafe/bar
    *️Leading/Organizing/Publicizing Events(Writing workshops, "Skip the Small Talk" Discussions, Community Events)
    *️Leading Pub Crawls
    *️Socializing and making ever guest feel welcomed!
    What I can offer you:
    TEACHING
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Certified teacher in USA
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️High student achievement on exams
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Higher student enjoyment in my classes
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Experience at every age: k-12 and adult
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Taught English in Thailand for Princeton in Asia program
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Patient, creative, energetic, inspiring teaching style
    What I can offer you:
    ORGANIC FARMING
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Have taken classes on farm management, market planning, crop rotation, IPM, etc.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Experience working in market and on csa
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Weeding, harvesting, irrigating, hoop house construction, lots of field experience!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Farms from 50mx30m to 6 acres(2.5 hectares)
    What I can offer you:
    TRAVELING ARTIST
    *️️️️️️Seasoned traveler (~1 year on the road)
    *️️️️️️Practiced digital photographer
    *️️️️️️Experienced Lightroom user
    *️️Theater experience
    *Film maker
    *Premiere Pro user
    *️️️Organizing workshops on writing, vulnerability, rich discussions, and even pub crawls!
    *️️️️️️Author of travel writing, arts & entertainment, short stories and poetry
    I'm an artist by nature! I studied music at uni. I read and write poetry and narratives. And I take lots of photos and video with my semi professional camera and editing with Adobe Premiere Pro/Lightroom. Would love to share these talents if you need them!

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    *️️️️️️️8 years Teaching(Colorado teaching certificate)
    *️️️️️️️5 years farming
    *️️️️️️️leadership/management
    *️️️️Relaxed and easy going
    *️️️️Fun loving and easy to laugh (especially at myself!)
    *️️️️Always learning
    *️️️️️️️photo-editing
    *film making
    *️️️️️️️writing
    *️️️️️️️proficient with WordPress

  • Languages spoken

    English (American), Italian (intermediate), Spanish (basic)

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    United States (Italian heritage)

  • What else ...

    It's always been a dream to live in a Buddhist monastery like a monk, so I started my travels with a long meditation retreat in the jungles of Sri Lanka. Then I did workaways in Malaysia, Italia, and Romania, Panama, Colombia, and more.

    After nearly a year on the road, I'm letting things take form more organically. I'm just following my nose wherever it takes me and making new friends, seeing new places and gaining new skills along the way.
    I hope we can work together!
    Website: www.joeypuglisi.com

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback