Joshua

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/08/2019 - 30/11/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I'm a 21 year old man living in the south east of England. I have been wanting to take another big step in life since university and decided this would be the best place to try. I love to travel to lots of different countries but haven't had the chance or opportunity to stay for extended periods of time to become better immersed in other cultures which is why I am looking to do that now. I am very open minded to new cultures and have a strong will to learn and take part in new things. I take a keen interest in technology and the modern world as I have a passion for science and possess a logical way of thinking. On the other hand I am a very warm person who cares deeply for other people and likes to make sure everyone around me is at ease and feeling good.

    My two dream destinations to visit would be Japan and Canada. I first become interested in Japan around age 13 just from watching documentaries and became further interested after doing more of my own research online such as youtube videos, further documentaries and reading articles. While in Japan I would be fully committed to try and get involved with local people and try to learn some more Japanese (I only know basic phrases and words).

    I would also love to go back to Canada since I was left yearning more after having a holiday there in 2014. The landscape and wildlife blew me away like never before. Everyone there was so kind and I would really like to get to know and form friendships with Canadian people as they are some of the nicest people I have ever met.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Firstly I have strong computer skills as I studied IT all the way through school and into college (age 18). This means I can use a variety of software packages and usually a good understanding of a computer problem and taking steps to fix them.
    Studying aeronautical engineering at university for 2 years means I am good with practical problem solving and maintenance using tools. As well as this I have excellent cleaning and hygiene skills.
    Doing graphic and product design in high school and college adds further to my skills by giving me improved design skills which could possibly applied to a hosts needs such as logos or help in decorating. As well as this I gained good building skills such as wooden frames, using different types of adhesives and a small amount of electronics.
    I have also worked in retail for 2 years in a photo development shop which is a testament to my quick learning as well as being presentable to customers and doing my best to help them.

  • Languages spoken

    English, some base level Spanish and limited phrases in Japanese

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    Im an avid gamer (especially Nintendo). I also like helping people when I can see how much it means to them. I like to listen to music a lot especially to get work and chores done as I find it keeps me going strong. I'm an animal lover and personally believe there is no such thing as too many dogs.
    As of Spring 2019 i received a certificate from the UK government as my proof of my eligibility to work with children.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback