Joseph

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/03/2021 - 02/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey all, I'm Joe, 22 from the Peak District, England. I've been working itenerantly since I finished my education at 18, working on farms, forestrys, vineyards, plantations and school rooms. Its all been rather lovely. With all thats going on in the world I'm looking to explore closer to home, to make some new friends in Ireland and Britain and see some of the beautiful side of these islands.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Labouring- I have been involved in a wide range of outdoor physical and intensive projects from tree felling to land clearing and maintenance in Europe to the construction of large scale toilet facilities in Africa.
    Basic Construction Skills- I've aided with the completion of large scale, permanent, wood-framed animal shelters as well as repair work on fences, gates and stone walls.
    Animal Care- I have worked closely and regularly with animals since late childhood. On Staffordshire sheep farms I’ve helped during the lambing season with the vaccination and castration of young lambs. More recently I’ve had experience with cattle and swine working on a free range pig farm in northern Tasmania handling a wide range of responsibilities conducive to a working farm including, but not limited to, the daily feeding of 500 pigs, vaccination of piglets, the selection, separation and loading of livestock to be taken to slaughter, the processing of slaughtered animals and the sale of them at local Farmers Markets. In addition to this I’ve worked in a more specialist role with animals as a trained falconer; understanding the behaviour of, caring for and flying multiple species of Owls, Eagles, Falcons and Hawks as well as performing with them at shows for audiences across England.
    Teaching- I was tutor to an Israeli boy who had recently moved to the UK, helping him progress in his secondary education in an unfamiliar environment. I have assisted in a Foreign Language Summer Camp in Navarre helping Spanish children develop their English Skills. I was part of a team that led 3 months of Water and Sanitation Hygiene Education in rural Tanzania reaching over 2000 people, through the mediums of adult and child direct classroom education in addition to mobile awareness campaigns.
    Project Work- I was leader at a local youth centre for 2 years helping, primarily, disabled children in the task of completing their Duke of Edinburgh awards. I have worked on Government funded aid projects in difficult circumstances where great discipline was required.
    Customer Service- I have worked previously in retail roles and have had a great deal of experience helping and working with people. Growing up in a pub, I learnt how to interact with people in a considerate, courteous and professional manner.
    Communication- working for a company called Angloville, I worked with Polish and Hungarian children-- teaching then English through language immersion camps. This role helped me to develop my communication and teaching skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    I tend to fall in love with any work project I get involved with, I have strong work values and will always insist on giving my best. I'm always fascinated with trying and learning new things and I have an open outlook; if you have any questions for me please don't hesitate at all to ask- I look forward to hearing from you soon :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback