Josefine

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/09/2019 - 10/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello everyone! I'm Josefine an enthusiastic and curious traveller. The last couple of years I spent a lot of my time working hard to get my university degree in veterinary medicine. The more I studied, the more I felt like I didn't actually know anything. So after graduation I set out to see the world (or at least some very small parts of it). On my journey I've come to realize that going somewhere as a tourist is not what I enjoy most. Getting in touch with locals and being able to experience their way of life and giving something back to the people, who welcome me as a guest in their country for me is much more rewarding! Workaway seems like the perfect place to do this. Also I think working on a shared project and being in touch with nature helps bringing people closer together. This is why I'm a big fan of the great outdoors. Nature and physical activity help me think, focus and connect to other people.
    In my free time I like to go horse riding, kayaking, bouldering, hiking or cycling. I've started practicing yoga recently. Also I enjoy reading, cooking and good conversations. I'm very easy going, uncomplicated. Although I'm getting more and more outgoing, it might still take me a moment to open up to new people.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    As a veterinarian (although still a veterinary greenhorn, as I got my degree in February 2019), I love working with all kinds of animals with a special interest in farm animals and horses.
    During my studies I worked as a "night nurse" for farm animals at a veterinary hospital. This job included various tasks from mucking out stables, feeding and milking to administering medications, assisting with operations and laboratory work. I assisted the attending vet at the clinic and as well as on rounds to several farms in the area.
    I'm an experienced horse rider and used to work on a horse farm in Ireland, organizing and leading tourist tracks, giving riding lessons and caring for about 30 horses and the corresponding stables.
    I enjoy the great outdoors and any work that involves being outside and getting my hands dirty.
    As a traveller I'm constantly trying to improve my language skills and I'd be happy to get some experience in teaching languages, although I have been tutoring younger students with great pleasure throughout high school and university.
    These are my "specialties", non the less I'm always eager to try new things and thankful for every new skill I can acquire on my journey.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I came to Mexico a couple of weeks ago to visit my sister, who lives here. Now I have become fascinated by this diverse, wild and colourful country, there is just so much to explore and learn at every corner. So I am looking for a way to prolong my stay and get to know more about the country and its people as well as to improve my Spanish. Although I enjoy working in the nature and with animals the most, I'm happy to help out where ever I can. I can work independantly and have a good eye for what needs to be done. I love a challenge and appreciate ever new thing you might want to teach me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback