Jordon & CRISTINA

From: Canada & Ecuador

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/11/2017 - 01/05/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    484

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Jordon Christie, I am 37 years old and from Canada. I met the love of my life, Cristina Sarmiento, 37, while backpacking through Cuenca, Ecuador and now we are have travelling the world together!
    We were married on Oct 18,2017, exactly two years after we met! February 2019, Cristina received her Canadian Permanent Residence. We both speak very good english and are great with children. Big News! Cristina and I will have our first baby the end of August! We know this will change our lives and are super excited to find some workaway hosts that are willing to accept us with our new addition!

    We would love to help out in local communities and make a positive difference in people's lives!
    Sustainable living is something we really want to learn more about and practice in our future.

    On Lake Of The Woods, in Kenora, On, we have managed Big Narrows Resort since 2018. We took it from a 1.5 star to 4.5 star with our reviews on trip advisor since we took over and are very proud of this! Check it out!: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/Hotel_Review-g181749-d183599-Reviews-Big_Narrows_Resort-Kenora_Kenora_District_Ontario.html
    We have had an amazing time and have acquired many more skills during this time.

    The greatest thing about managing the resort is now being able to host workawayers from all over the world! This year we have had 5 from the U.K., France, Germany, India and Canada! So Awesome!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I'm a very fast learner and pick up on things quickly. I consider myself a well rounded handyman!
    I've worked many jobs including chef at resort, fishing guide, delivery driver, production line associate, cook at fish and chips shop and mustering cattle in the outback of Australia to name a few!
    I can operate almost any piece of equipment, from motorcycles to bull dozers and am mechanically inclined to fix things as well!
    I enjoy playing the guitar, supervising children and would like to give teaching some English a try. I just completed my TEFL course.
    We've help exchanged with children organizations in Africa, planted trees in Haiti and always had a great time.
    Cristina has a degree in Civil Engineering, has experience in sales and computers. She wants to learn new skills and is a very quick learner as well. She also enjoys looking after children and teaching english.
    With our three years experience of managing a fishing resort we have expanded our skills greatly in all aspects in regards to running a seasonal camp, from start-up to -shut-down.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    38 & 39

  • Nationality

    Canadian and Ecuador

  • What else ...

    We are interested in helping out locally in communities and learning some new skills as well as sharing some of ours! Improving my spanish and improving Cristina's english are important to us also.
    Our volunteer experiences so far have been some of the most amazing of our lives and look forward to saying the same with you!😉

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback