Jonathan Jaya

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, France, Indonesia, Peru, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm Jonathan, born and grew up in Indonesia but I've been living in the Netherlands for the last 8 years - so I feel partially Dutch now :)

    I come from quite a traditional family who thinks children have to finish their study as soon as possible, start working and earn money right away - so this is what I've been doing. However when I came to Holland and Europe, I realized that many people are taking a gap year, sabbatical, etc. - something regarded as wasting time in my culture. And this is exactly what I want to prove wrong!

    Now I have understood how important it is to connect with different cultures, travel the world and discover it but also to have time to discover oneself better. I realized that life isn't just about working and amassing wealth so that's why I'm planning to take a 6-months break from my job and try all kind of different jobs in life. I want to quench the thirst of freedom, challenge myself with new things and experience how it is to be in a totally different environment and expand my horizon.

    I'm very easy going and open minded. Maybe my experience with the outdoor nature is somewhat limited for now but believe me I'm very hands on and eager to learn new things - people say I'm fast at it. Furthermore I like to stay active, be productive and be able to connect personally with people around me. I'm an ambivert who usually love talking to and helping strangers. Other times I prefer to be alone to recharge and reflect - or being in a smaller group as I believe in quantity over quality ;)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Photography, design, computer help, cooking (I'm a food technologist/taster in a flavor company by profession), I was an all-round waiter for more than 3 years. I'm also good with languages and I like to use my hands to create stuff.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, French, Basic Spanish and Italian, Indonesian

  • Age

    26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Wedding photography portfolio
Couple photography portfolio
Interior photography portfolio
Food photography portfolio
My chef at work and my plates

Feedback