Jonah

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Guatemala, Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2019 - 20/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! Hola!
    I am an enthusiastic traveller and volunteer. My goal when I travel is to delve deeper into the culture and community of a place, and to give my time for environmental and social causes that I care about.

    I am completing a Baachelor degree, majoring in Environmental Humanities.

    I am currently studying in Mexico for a semester exchange program until May 2019, and plan through Mexico and Central America until July.
    Some highlights of my work and volunteer experiences while travelling have been:
    Workaway with a German family in the forest, looking after their animals and activities with their home-schooled children.
    Group trip to Cambodia to build a house in a rural village
    Volunteering with an indigenous community in central Australia
    Agricultural volunteering in Guatemala
    Worked in a police holding cell in Peru for abandoned, abused and neglected children.

    I am very passionate about the environment, in both practical conservation and in advocacy. My future definitely lies in environmental protection. I have learned a lot about people, cultures and the world in my volunteering adventures so far, and can't wait to gain more out of my experiences with Workaway in the future!
    I am open to all new experiences while I travel. I do not need luxurious accomodation and am happy to engage in any reasonable work. I look forward to connecting with future hosts :)

  • Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Experience with children
    Customer service
    Leadership skills
    Passion for the environment
    The desire to help!

  • Languages spoken

    English and Intermediate Spanish

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Photos

Feedback