From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/05/2014 - 10/01/2015

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description


    My name is Jon, i am from the East of England. I am a keen traveller and explorer who loves to experience every culture, and have been engaged as a volunteer through workaway for about 4 years now. Workaway is perfect because it combines work, travel and culture together. Instead of seeing a country as a limited tourist i want to live and work, experiencing it properly; meeting and becoming friends with amazing and interesting people from all walks of life.
    Since completing my English Literature degree in London in 2013 i have lived a seasonal nomadic life-style doing a lot of volunteer work as well as paid agricultural (wine harvest) and contractual seasonal work (ski season).
    With Workaway and other volunteer opportunities i have been so lucky to stay at over 10 different and incredible places; self-sustaining farms, chalets, chateaux and gites. I believe I have learnt a lot in my time and would go as far as saying that im a good little worker when it comes to gardening and maintenance, and will get my hands stuck in where ever needed.

    I will write a brief list of some of the things i have learnt or experienced:
    - Gardening/horticulture; building and maintaining vegetable gardens, growing vegetables, clearing shrub-land, pruning plants and trees, using chainshaws to cut down trees, maintaining growth and nature with permaculture.
    - Dry-stone wall construction
    - Building Chicken houses out of recycled wood
    - Construction: plaster work, tiling, basic carpentry and masonry.
    - Wood-chopping and storage
    - Animal care, and feeding (donkeys, horses, goats, pigs, sheep, chicken, dogs...)
    - Herding, i have experience working on goats cheese farm and herding the goats on the mountain-side.
    - Using herbs and natural ingredients in cooking
    This is only a limited list. I want to experience a lot more in my travels; i'm basically someone that travels with my eyes and heart wide open.

    I also have many years experience working in the catering and hospitality industry. I have worked as a host, handy-man and chauffeur for a luxury chalet company in the French Alps, as well as working in a Gite, a campsite, and a couple of golf clubs.
    I am very keen on improving languages- and learning new forms of art.

    Thank you for taking the time to read my profile and i will hopefully meet you soon! :)

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a confident and physically able worker both inside and out. Having great past experience in restaurants, chalets, hotels and golf clubs i am quite skilled in general maintenance, cleaning and catering jobs so i think i will be very capable for whoever i work for.
    I am very experienced in gardening and horticulture and with land management.
    Plastering and basic construction

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, learning German

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I am great with children having worked as a young leader
    I love animals
    I am up for experiencing pretty much anything which means i love all outdoor activities: cycling, hiking, rock climbing, canoeing, white-water rafting etc
    But i also enjoy quiet evenings with great conversation, wine, a book or film.
    I want to indulge myself with many different cuisines so will eat pretty much anything put in front of me...

    In my spare time i want to work on my creative writing, my guitar practice, and exploring the area. Being a big music lover i will be more than happy to share my music and jam with like-minded people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


Merle & Jon and our log wall
Pavlov and I write a song together
Breathtaking climbing in the Alps