Jon

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2020 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hi there, my name is Jon, from Glasgow, born and bred in bonnie Scotland.
    I have an education/career background in nautical science, sport & exercise, accountancy & customer service.
    Thus far I have resisted the call of the wild and a different way of living, but I am now looking to hang up my office lanyard in search of a life closer to nature and the outdoors.
    I am open-minded and extremely keen to learn new skills. I am especially interested in gaining experience in more practical work such as carpentry, building, landscaping, gardening, farm work & anything hands on really!
    I can only claim to be a complete novice, but I am striving to develop a better knowledge & understanding of sustainable living, permaculture & all things off grid or self sufficiency related.
    I enjoy helping others with whatever needs doing and believe I do so with a smile on my face!
    I also enjoy the challenge of physical work and can adapt to working either by myself or as part of a team.
    In my spare time I like to listen to as much music as possible, keep fit (try to), hike and read the odd book.
    Thank you for reading!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Carpentry
    Books
    Music
    History
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    - People skills in a working environment, the ability to get along with all types of characters!
    - Bar work/front of house and supermarket/stock handling experience.
    - Painting & Decorating (at home experience).
    - Some DIY experience.
    - Making customers/guests happy and comfortable.
    - Office/Accountancy skills.
    - I have a 6 year old nephew and 3 year old niece that I can keep entertained and laughing. Definitely a skill in my book!
    Above all I have an enthusiasm to learn, can be quick to do so, and know how to get on with the task at hand.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    I'm hoping to encompass some of the routes of the Camino de Santiago into my travels.
    I enjoy all sports and mostly play football or go running.
    I've began trying my hand at yoga & meditation and I am very eager to learn more.
    My travelling so far hasn't been for extended periods but I have managed to visit Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and squeezed in a good few city breaks around Europe, my favourite being Seville! I have also visited Tokyo with the Merchant Navy.
    I love the outdoors in my home country Scotland, although haven't explored it as much as I would have liked to.. best trip so far has to be camping on the Isles of Skye & Harris.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback