Jolinda

From: Finland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Romania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/06/2019 - 30/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hey all!

    I'm a 24-year old artist from Finland with a lifetime of experience of travelling and experiencing other cultures, and an interest to continue living life to the fullest while experiencing all it has to offer. My main passions are art, writing and film-making, in which I have a Bachelor's degree from the University of Canberra. I'm also a photography enthusiast, and bring my Canon EOS 100D with me on any interesting trips I undertake. At the moment I'm writing the third part to my fantasy novel series called the "Bladewings," set in Romania- hence I've had a special interest in the country for a while.

    I have a wide variety of other interests as well, including dancing, playing guitar, languages and fitness. My natural default mode is doing creative things, but I have grown up doing a fair amount of physical work in a very practical family partially living on the countryside, so I don't shy away from the grittier, physical stuff either. I have a high work ethic and classic Nordic integrity, so whatever task you give me, I'll strive to do it in the best way possible with maximum efficiency. Even if there is work that's not my natural cup of tea, I'll do my best to learn and adapt to deliver great results.

    I believe in continuous learning, and whilst my ultimate goal is to pursue a career in film/concept art, I think any experience we get in life is valuable, no matter how unrelated it may seem to our main goal. I'm always up for deep, philosophical discussions and ponderings on the state of the world, as well as some straight-forward fun, adventure or exploring nature/anything interesting, really.

    "Man cannot discover new oceans without the courage to lose sight of the shore". -Andre Gide

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Artistic- A wide variety ranging from graphic design to photography and painting murals, for example. If it involves Photoshop or art supplies, I'm down.

    Writing- My strongest suite is fiction writing, but I could also help with e.g. editing your website description to perfection or writing blog-style entries. Those grammar/spelling errors better start running.

    Organizational- Throwing together events for 40-100 people, coordinating and scheduling work, leading people in accomplishing an objective when necessary.

    Musical- I actively play guitar, have dabbled in drums and sung in a youth band.

    Practical- Pretty good with basic work around the house, farm work etc. People always seem to be surprised by how much weight I can carry :P.

    Other- I'm very hard-working and adaptable, striving for great results and efficiency in what I do. I'll try to optimize things for the benefit of everyone, and do my best even at jobs that might not be my natural cup of tea. Willing to learn.

    People- I'm open and friendly towards people, and value clear communication. I'm not the world's greatest extrovert, but I do enjoy making connections with others and appreciate the time shared with people, especially when it's meaningful on more than a surface-level. As long as I occasionally get to recharge with some alone time, I'll be down to party.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in Finnish, English, Dutch. Moderate ability in Spanish, Romanian and French, some skills in Russian and Hebrew.

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    In my lifetime I've really grown to appreciate the way you can learn something from everyone, even people with completely different personalities or interests. This is why I always try to stay open minded, for you never know where chance encounters with a random stranger may lead, or how much people you never expected to share anything with end up affecting your life.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback