Jo

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    Update: I arrived in France on the 30th of December with my negative Covid test certificate dated 29th Dec - I have been travelling solo in France in my little van and had very little contact with other people during my first week in France. I believe that I am at low risk of being infectious.
    I am escaping the stupidity of Brexit for a few months and would like to immerse myself in new things.
    Talking of immersion... am a mermaid! I love swimming outdoors. I like many outdoor activities, particularly cycling (mountain-bike and road) and trail running.
    I am motivated by laughter, seeking contentment; helping people; being physically and mentally fit and communicating with others. I aspire to improve myself and support others to make positive changes in their life. I'm told that I am hard-working, loyal and sociable and that I am fun to be around, but also caring and supportive.
    At this point in my life, with two independent, grown children, I am seeking to experience new places and meet new people. I have had a significant life change that occurred at the start of the Covid-19 crisis in March 2020 and am looking to make what could be seen as a negative time into a new beginning.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have broad skills and experience. I worked as a Social Worker for 20 years. My area of specialism was Mental Health and Dementia care. Prior to that I taught children and young people to kayak and rock climb. I have also taught mountain-biking.
    I have good communication skills, written and verbal. I am able to teach English. I am calm,supportive and friendly. I am creative and like to draw and paint. I could teach drawing to adults and children.
    I am physically fit and very practical, so can help with many household and garden tasks.
    I am a reasonable cook and am happy turning my hand to any household tasks.
    I have brought up two children, so am happy caring for children. With my excellent general knowledge and interest in the world, I would be good at supporting home schooling. I have also cared for older people and enjoy good conversation with anyone. Not just 'small talk' but deeper discussion on many topics.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    52

  • What else ...

    I will work hard and adapt to life in any setting. I can share my broad life experiences with you and hope to share and grow from the Workaway experience.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback