John

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    Hello, I am John and I am taking a break after 35 years work and looking for some horizontal growth and the chance to meet new people, experience new work perspectives and attain alternative levels and flavours of satisfaction.
    I am 51 years old and from a professional perspective have a background in I.T. From a personal perspective I enjoy the satisfaction of physically making things, fixing things and making a positive physical difference to my environment and to the people around me. I enjoy growing food - based on small scale projects in Ireland and England - which is where I am typically based and where I keep an allotment.
    I consider myself to be fit, to be curious, and hungry to learn more about different aspects of life and to learn more about myself. I am happy to mix in a workgroup and equally content to be left to manage and undertake my own workstack. I appreciate good literature, and diversity of food and am fueled by laughter and good conversation. I enjoy hiking, and most sports and especially enjoy exploring new places pedaling around on a bike.

    I hope that there may be an opportunity to strike up some mutually beneficial experiences here on Workaway.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Camping
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Technology
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening and Horticulture: Experience in- growing fruit and vegetables so use to hard digging, soil enrichment, planting, maintaining and growing crops.

    DIY and Decorating - handy enough working with wood and most electric tools e.g. circular saws, jig-saws, belt sander as well as more traditional tools in craft project work. Upcycling projects have included pallet and scaffolding plank as source materials when making items such as desks and window boxes. My decorating work is tidy and sound from preparation through to finish with minimal mess and waste on the way to the end of the job.

    IT skills - pretty au fait with most technologies from PC's to android phones/boxes as well as more 'industrial' aspects e.g. databases, servers etc. based on work / career experience.

    Cooking - enjoy cooking, especially with home-grown products. Making breads, and medleys of dishes.
    Energetic and always to keen to help.

  • Age

    54

  • What else ...

    As well as providing practical help, I really enjoy consuming and exchanging experiences and views on local and remote cultures. I enjoy folk music (singing) and need to get to grips with learning to play the guitar at some stage.
    I enjoy literary aspects ranging from reading novels and poetry as well as playing scrabble and sometimes tormenting myself with seemingly unsolvable cryptic crosswords. I am currently also trying to learn how to fish more proficiently.
    Enjoying good conversation probably tops my list.
    Happy to Skype call in advance of any workaway experiences commencing to ensure the best possible fit for all.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback