John & Katalin

From: United Kingdom & Hungary

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are a young Hungarian/English Couple with a diverse mix of skills looking for interesting new challenges and opportunities around the world.

    I am a watersports and nature loving hands-on person who enjoys working on creative practical projects. I have a degree in engineering as well as 4 years service experience in the Royal Marines.

    My partner is an enthusiastic, open minded, friendly and caring ex Emirates air hostess, keen linquist, dancer and singer who loves the sea, sun and island life. She has lived in Hungary, Italy, Cyprus and Dubai but loves discovering different lifestyles and cultures.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I grew up next to the sea on the Isle of Wight experiencing a country life-style upbringing. I have experience looking after horses and ponies, cows, sheep, pigs, chickens, dogs, cats, rabbits and more! From work at our family farm/woodland/forestry business I am used to driving bikes, quads, 4x4's, tractors and timber trailers as well as operating large plant and industrial machinery including JCB, excavators, sawmill and a range of chainsaws.

    I have five years experience as an Airbnb host managing my family’s seasonal beachfront cottage on the Isle of Wight and have gained a Super-Host rating through quality guest service. Aside from hosting, this has involved routine property maintenance as well as garden landscaping, oak timber fencing, slipway maintenance, roof repairs and installing a wood burning stove. In some of my spare time I have also managed a renovation project on my uncle’s cottage re-rendering exterior pebbledash, replacing rotten windows, installing new mains water pipe. I am confident with most basic DIY carpentry, decorating, electrician and plumbing work but I would enjoy turning my hand to learn new skills.

    Sailing/Boating/Watersports
    On the water I have a few seasons informal experience as a watersports Instructor including, Kitesurf, kayaking, waterskiing and wakeboarding. I have a range of boating experience from serving with the Marines but I also have my RYA Day Skipper & Powerboat Advanced tickets. I have some sailing experience only around 1500miles in and around the South Coast of the UK and Brittany. I am competent driving RIBs and similar small boats up to 15m.



    My partner Jazmin learnt to speak fluent English in Cyprus, working in a range of seasonal hospitality jobs, whilst maintaining a part time position at a Human Resources news and information website back in Hungary. She has a degree in HR, can speak good Italian some German and native Hungarian.
    These positions were mostly in 4 & 5* hotels working in a range of roles from cleaning and housekeeping, to spa receptionist and activities host. Having established a background of experience through these positions, she then moved on to work as an air hostess for Emirates. She has received professional training and over the past five years has gained a depth of experience, learning and developing her ability to deal with all kinds of people and situations. She is well accustomed to working in the Business Class providing a high level of service to ordinary passengers as well as VIP’s. From this experience, she would confidently be able to cover most housekeeping, cleaning and laundry requirements to a high standard.

    My partner and I enjoy healthy home cooking and would be confident preparing meals and occasionally hosting small groups/dinner parties if required. We work well as a team and can be flexible in our roles should the situation demand. I would be happy to step in cooking or ironing sheets just as my partner would be to pick up a paintbrush or a spade!

  • Languages spoken

    Hungarian: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    29 & 38

  • What else ...

    My partner competed in many latin american and standard dance competitions in her home country. She was singing in a band in Thailand for a few years and can play the flute and some piano. Dance and music - as well as sun, sea and swimming :) are two big influences in her life. I recently inspired her to start writing poems in English as well as Hungarian.

    I am interested in Sustainable living and dream to build my own little eco house at some point in the future. I like reading Philosophy, walking and running with our dogs and going to bed physicall exhausted after a productive day.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback