John

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Thailand - from Oct 2021 until Feb 2022
    View all
  • Description

    My morning mantra is . . . “Life is good. I wonder what adventure will come my way today.” I begin each day with unconditional gratitude and positive reinforcement.
    I have traveled to over 35 countries, Thailand 2 years, Mexico 5 months; China 4 months; Egypt 3 months; India 2 months; Laos 2 months; Cambodia 2 months; Myanmar 2 months; Spain 6 weeks; France 4 weeks; Germany 4 weeks; Haiti 4 weeks; Canada 3 weeks; Dominican Republic 5 weeks; Guatemala 2 weeks; Jamaica 2 weeks; Sweden, Greece, Turkey, Bosnia, Martinique, Russia, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Columbia, Venezuela, Austria, Switzerland, Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Guadalupe.
    I lived on the beach in Puerto Rico for 17 years and used it as a base for travel. I have visited 47 of the 50 states.
    I work to continue to discover and participate in new cultures, explore unusual, far-away lands with a focus on archaeology, and make friends along the way. Kids and animals are drawn to me and I cherish my time with them.
    Gardening:
    Gardening has always been a creative and stimulating part of my life. I grew Irises in high school. I grew roses in college. I helped plant 27 trees on West 82nd street in Manhattan when I lived there after graduate school. My neighbors and I planted more than 1,000 palm trees on the beaches of San Juan, PR; now they are more than 40 feet tall. In California, I planted 72 roses and designed an Oriental garden with a Koi pond. The attached pictures are of a Koi pond I designed and built in Boulder Colorado.
    Sailing:
    I was born for the sea.. The rhythm of a sailboat surging through swells, ghosting along under a full moon, anchored quietly in a hidden cove. Ah, and the camaraderie of competition. Trolling and eating fresh fish, making your own Yellow Tail sushi. Food tastes better on a sailboat.
    Cooking:
    Living in Manhattan changed my life about many things, especially food. I love to cook every cuisine, learn new dishes from others (or even better, cook with you), and entertain, plus … I’m good at it. I have been a restaurant critic and the founder of the Chinese Gourmet Society in Puerto Rico.
    Writing:
    Author, seasoned business, sports and travel writer. Finishing a book; "Happiness .. in the Absence of Money." (I have what I need to live a happy life and not much else. This has provided me with a deep sense of gratitude for what I choose to keep.)
    Marketing:
    I spent my career in marketing and advertising. I had my own radio show; "John Bynum on Marketing." A rewarding profession.
    Languages:
    Native English speaker. Have spoken Spanish 40 years. Use it every day. Conversational French. Can enjoy a movie in French without subtitles. Studying Mandarin Chinese and Thai. Simple communication with good pronunciation. More desire than knowledge.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Gardening
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Blogging
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Skilled landscaping and gardening; Published author, travel writer; Accomplished chef; Interested in new cultures and languages; Strong interest and knowledge of archaeology; Cruising and racing sailor. ESL skills,

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    72

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback