Johanna

  • Australia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Johanna and I'm a dual UK/Australian citizen, living in Australia for the first time in my life!
    I have spent the last year in UK lockdown and managed to escape to the freedom of Australia at the end of February. I have been planning my escape from my desk job for the past two years, and my goal is to step outside my comfort zone and try new things, meet new people and explore the amazing places Australia has to offer.
    I joined Workaway because I don't want to be a tourist - I want to connect with people in the places I visit and exchange stories and contribute something to their everyday lives, however small that contribution might be. I'm very eager to learn new skills, make friends and receive any wisdom that might be on offer.
    I'm willing to try any kind of work that needs doing, my only restriction is that I don't want to work at a desk or in front of a computer! I'm a very creative person and am good with my hands so I would probably be most suitable for painting, decorating, cooking and gardening etc. I like getting my hands dirty and doing a variety of things. I also love being around animals so would be love to try farm work or pet sitting.
    Having spent a lot of time indoors due to lockdown I would be especially eager to do any work that is outdoors. (This would also have the added benefit of being very entertaining for potential hosts because I'm still not used to the huge spiders that seem to be everywhere in Aus!!!)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Creative - enjoy working with hands
    Cooking
    Babysitting
    Petsitting
    Cleaning
    Painting
    Writing

    Previous jobs include: Administration, Shop Floor Assistant, Juice Bar Assistant, Fast Food and have babysat for friends in spare time

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Welsh: Beginner

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    I was born and brought up in Wales so I can entertain you with my accent and pronunciations of strange Welsh words. I love cooking for people and have some recipes for delicious Welsh baked goods that I would love to share with anyone who might be interested. I love to write in my spare time - I currently have a blog called 'The Wandering Path'. I absolutely love being outdoors, hiking, swimming or just relaxing. In a past life, I was a musician, but unfortunately, a performance injury put an end to that; however, I still love listening to music and could probably teach music theory if anyone needs tuition. I'm a big sci-fi nerd: Star Trek and Doctor Who are my shows but I also enjoy a good comedy. I enjoy being around people but I'm also an introvert so can be quiet sometimes. Friends have previously described me as clumsy and ditzy, neither of which I find flattering but I think they're probably accurate so it's only fair I be honest about it!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats, Hayfever, Walnuts, Hazelnuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mild walnut/hazelnut allergy

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback