Joey

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Morocco, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/01/2019 - 21/03/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I've lived my whole life on Orcas Island, in Washington state. The community on Orcas Island is very tight knit, active and organic/sustainability oriented. I was very lucky to be able to enjoy the ocean, the mountains, and the great community on the island growing up. In general, I just really want to get out and go adventure.
    I love cities, and people, but where I feel the best is out in the middle of nowhere, or seeing people who don't live life like most people do. I love animals, especially dogs, so I almost always enjoy working with animals.
    I'm not entirely sure what my trip has in store, I fly to Barcelona in January, I want to explore the city and other parts of Spain, then possibly continue in Europe, or elsewhere, but I like to keep my plans very loose.
    My goals with my trip are to immerse myself in the communities I travel to, learn Spanish, meet likeminded travelers, work on fun projects, and enjoy the landscapes.
    I keep a pretty healthy diet, make sure to exercise very often, stretch consistently, and I've been really into yoga the past couple months.
    Always ready for an adventure, whether it's crazy, long, bad weather, I'm always up to do something.
    Last year I went on a trip to Thailand, and Central America. I freakin loved it, learned quite a bit about traveling, and have a ton of motivation to do even more this trip.
    I’m also interested in learning how to play instruments of any kind.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I’m a skilled arborist/tree climber from the Pacific Northwest, U.S. I have plenty of experience working with most types of trees, coniferous, deciduous, and fruit trees like pears or apples. I am very good at seeing how to bring light to a property, clear up a view, removing trees by felling, or climbing when needed, all while ensuring the health of the forest/individual trees, and minimizing impacts on the environment. I am skilled working with/maintaining power tools, chainsaws, and some heavy equipment such as a tractor, I am skilled operating a tractor with bucket or grabber attachments, I have experience in cooking, basic construction, gardening/farming, and basic mechanic work. I'm great with dogs/animals in general, and have a knack for getting along with animals that might not trust most people. I love creating things, whether it has to do with farming, art, work, or something just for fun. I think that work can be super fun when it's done with the right people, and I'm a fast learner when it comes to picking up new skills or trades.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Basic Spanish

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    My loose plan is sticking to Barcelona for at least a week or two from January 12th, and then possibly spend another month around Spain, and then moving onward north to the rest of Europe or possible going south to Morocco. Those plans are all loose and can be changed very quickly If I find a cool workaway or opportunity similar.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback