Joel & Liisa

From: Finland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/12/2018 - 21/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a couple from nothern Finland. We have been together for ten years now, and finally we have the chance to go on a longer trip to Asia! We'd love to contribute and do our part for local communities. For us traveling is all about people, cultures, nature and food.

    We are easygoing, positive vibe seekers and get along with people. In a way we are typical finnish people, we are able to be independent from a young age. In Finland we value politeness, honesty and helpfulness. We are truly trustworthy people and it is truly a matter of honor not to be a nuisance to anyone!

    We absolutely love nature, it's seasons and different kind of landscapes. We like to go for hikes in the wilderness here in Finland, but also enjoy nature everyday while walking and cycling. Our hometown is Oulu, it is quite a small and friendly town (200 000 inhabitants), but it has lots to offer.

    Responsible traveling is close to our hearts. These days when climate change is seriously on the table, it is hard to justify flying to the other side of the globe. That is why we want to have longer trip at once and we'd like to give back to communities, travel as eco-friendly as possible, and avoid the worst tourist attractions. We also prefer vegetarian food and public transport.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are both teachers in Finland, so our talent lies in socialising with people. We'd appreciate any kind of educational jobs, so that we could use the things we learn back in Finland. We are also able to give you some ideas about Finnish ways of teaching and learning! Finnish methodology for learning and teaching is based on learning by doing, play, exploring, self-expression and warm pupil-teacher relationships.

    Joel is teaching English, German and geography.
    Liisa is an early childhood educator, which means working with children under 7 years old. Our degrees also qualify us to work as educational consultants, in administrational decision making and teaching adults.

    Any kind of teaching and communicating with people is always a learning experience and a way for us to broaden our views.We would love to see local people and get to really know the culture, in exchange we can tell about our own roots and experiences.

    We'd like to help with housework and gardening and other chores around the house.
    We like to cook at home and have some cooking experience from working places as well. Liisa has worked at a finnish fast-food restaurant called Hesburger for four years and Joel the same amount of time as a fishmonger in a local market hall.

    We have been working various jobs including being a cashier, cleaning schools and working in school kitchens. Liisa has also worked as a part-time swimming teacher for three years in a local sports club.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Finnish, Swedish, German

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • What else ...

    Lifelong learning as a goal!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We prefer vegetarian food, but we are also interested in tasting local dishes as they are used to be served.

Photos

We love music and communal happenings! In this picture we are on a camping site for a small music festival called Bättre Folk, on the island of Hailuoto.
We have both studied education in university of Oulu! Joel is master of arts, majoring in teaching English language. He is also German language and geography teacher. Liisa is master of arts, majoring in early childhood education, cultural education and arts.
When it is winter in Finland, it is usually cold outside..
I'm Liisa, nature lover, devoted early childhood educator and experience seeker. My mission is to see the world and learn about multiple ways of living on this globe.
I'm Joel, a curious soul and an English language teacher from Finland. I am particularly enthusiastic about different kinds of learning, music and the outdoors.
We appreciate what nature can offer us! We love to pick berries from the woods and prefer natural foods and products. In this picture you can see lingonberries in the buckets and Joel's parents' dogs. We also love animals.
Walking on the sea, covered by ice, of course
Summer hike in June in Finnish Lapland. This is path from Hetta to Pallas fjeld.
We are definitely outdoor people and love to hike overnight hikes in nature. In this picture one of Finland's national parks, Koli.

Feedback