Joana

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/12/2019 - 14/05/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm Joana, originally from Lisbon, local to London for the past 5 years. I've decided to take a break from my work with an environmental NGO to travel south America. I want to learn more about beekeeping, permaculture, mycology, medicinal plants and natural building. Sailing as well! And Syntropic agroecology!
    I love cooking - especially coming up with new tasty plant based desserts.
    I've shared a home with 18 people for the past 3 years, and communal living is something I deeply care about. I'm very interested in learning about intentional communities and how they organise in a context of self-reliance.
    Eventually I'd like to start a project back home (Portugal) that brings together ecology, art and community building, so I guess I'm doing a bit of field work :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I'm a certified beekeeper and have got a permaculture design course (PDC)
    I've worked with an environmental NGO for the past few years, and have experience in activism and education.
    I also know about digital strategy, user experience and research and such!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian! (though I'm up for eating fish on occasion)

Photos

Feedback