Jonti & Jo

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home


    We are currently working on our own renovation in Central France. We are starting an inclusive arts centre, and are very keen to connect with other cultural and creative projects in Europe.

  • Description

    Hi- we are Jonti and Jo and we've known each other since we were 21, and been good friends our whole lives. We are both now creative directors of The Ministry of Making, in Central France .
    You can look us and our work up on The Ministry of Making website.
    We love to take time out, and visit other people and projects. We love supporting others and, since we welcome volunteers here in The Auvergne, you can be sure that we are aware of how to BE volunteers.
    We're positive, happy and can work under direction, or be totally self directed, as suits you.
    We are self sufficient, and can amuse ourselves, whilst also really enjoying making new friends, and happy to provide music evenings on occasion, as Jonti plays Mandolin, and Jo sings.
    We love balance, harmony and good will.

    We have both been teachers for nearly 30 years, Jonti as an English teacher, Head of English, then Head of Drama, and an ex-Headmaster.
    Jo has worked as an artist in residence in schools for over 25 years, supporting young people's leadership and the management of change through the arts.
    Neither of us was ever a "conventional" teacher. We both believe in supporting children to think their own thoughts, and become powerful and creative on their own terms.
    Between us, we are parents of six fabulous children of our own, (now all grown adults), and we are very experienced at taking a parental role, ensuring that young people to feel safe and well cared for. We both have enhanced DBS clearance.

    We are both keen enthusiastic workers, and have lots of experience with household tasks such as painting and decorating, and some household maintenance. Jonti can turn his hand to plumbing and (basic) electrics as well as simple repairs of appliances and IT/computer issues. Jo is a wizard with Photoshop, and loves gardening and decorating!
    We both cook really well and love making meals for others. We also love to take on projects together, and can manage our time really well, with no need to be supervised. We both drive and have full, clean licences. We would bring our own car/van. We do not smoke and do not drink beyond the (very) occasional glass of wine or beer.
    We're cheerful, happy people, and really love helping others, and we like to support good respectful terms with everyone.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Van life
    Gardening
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Self development

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Jo is a printmaker, and also has some web design and graphic design skills. Jonti is a writer, so he can write copy, and is reasonably experienced with social media ( FB, Instagram, Twitter etc).
    We both love painting, decorating and gardening, and have lots of experience through maintaining our own home. We really enjoy helping people find and develop their creativity through the arts: singing, drama and visual arts. Jo is a skilled feltmaker.
    We're both resourceful, and very solution orientated, and can get on with things without the need for supervision.
    Jonti is also pretty handy, and can fix things and help out in the house. He is a superb cook.
    Jo also cooks really well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    60 & 60

  • What else ...

    We are both avid readers. Jo is a maker and can turn her hand to most crafts. Jonti like to whittle & carve. He has been known to make flutes and whistles. We are both musicians. Jonti plays mandolin and Jo is a singer.
    Jonti enjoys playing cards and word games like Scrabble.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Jonti is a vegetarian-Jo eats everything except eggs ( not allergic).

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback