Jettie

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/02/2019 - 02/10/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello dear hosts!

    I am Jettie, 25 years old by the time I'm in NZ :) A few months ago, I've traveled through Europe and I've been workawaying at 5 different adresses. These were truly part of my most amazing experiences during this trip. I've worked as au-pair, helped at a eco-farm and worked in a hostel. Many people that I met through workaway, I consider as friends/family. They enriched my life by teaching me about work that I haven't done before, and giving me life lessons that I will forever carry with me (litteraly, because I put it down in my travel diary :3).

    As you can probably see, I am a great fan of animals. I grew up with lots of different animals (dogs, cats, hamsters, turtles, chickens, doves, sheeps, goats, horses), I did horse riding for a few years (until I started my studies), and I worked in an animal pension for cats and dogs since I was 15 years old (three years on Saterdays, and after that I came back each summer). Therefore, staying in a home with lots of animals and helping out with animal related work, would make me the happiest workawayer imagineable (I don't mind getting dirty at all!)

    I also have experience with cleaning, because I have been cleaning appartments on saterdays for about the last three years. I have to say, I'm not the fastest cleaner, but I really try to do a good job and make my bosses happy (which luckily, they seem to be). Also, for my studies I left my parents house, which means that I had to learn how to clean, to cook, to do my laundry etc. As for cooking, I like meat and am not a vegetarian myself, but I live with a couple of vegetarians and do know vegetarian recipes as well. I find it harder to come up with nice vegan dishes, but I don't mind to eat vegan ;) I would call myself a flexitarier by now.

    As for languages, I can practice Dutch, German, and English with you. If others would like to help me improve my Spanish or French (I am a real beginner in those languages), I would love that too! Also, I had piano and singing lessons for a while, and if you like that too, we could make music together! :) Be prepared: I love to sing under the shower, while cooking, while cleaning (kind of everywhere :3). At last, I am predominantly extrovert. I love having people around, and am able to chat a lot. It also takes a lot of energy from me, and I need to be able to get some 'me time' too, but being alone all the time would make me really sad. So, please don't let me come to your place, if there is almost never anybody around.

    I really love to hear from you!
    Jettie

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Taking care of animals (especially cats and dogs); cleaning; cooking; playing piano; singing; high empathy

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch; English; German

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback