Jess & Leah

From: United Arab Emirates & United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 10/07/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there!
    We are two students who met doing a study exchange at the University of Calgary. We love Canada and want to explore it more! We both enjoy learning new things and meeting new people, and can't wait to meet you!
    Here's a little more about us...
    Hiya, I'm Leah and I hail from a small coastal town in the North of Ireland. I study geology at University in Scotland and love the countryside - this wee part of the world is really beautiful (and very rainy!). I love a good challenge and learn fast, and some of my fondest memories to date involve working and the outdoors. When I was wee, my dad would always take me with him to livestock auctions and tractor rallies (I come from a farming background) and I used to love to rake about in the mud - so anything outdoorsy and involving a little bit of grunt-work suits me! I also love music, I sing and play trumpet and have a passion for Irish traditional folk music - get yer toe tapping and yer dancing shoes on! I love food and, although I am not a foodie of any sort, I love to share and learn new dishes (especially if they are jammed full with delicious veggies!).
    I have recently found that life isn't as black and white as I thought or hoped it would be, so I am trying really hard to adapt a flexible and forgiving mindset, that encourages myself and others to grow. I would love to learn new practical skills, and am very excited to hopefully meet new friends who become like a 2nd family to me.

    Hi, I'm Jess and while I'm from the UK I grew up abroad, mostly in Asia and the Middle East, so I love learning about new cultures (and cuisine haha) and interacting with new people. I think it's always a great thing to learn new perspectives. I study Archaeology, Classical Studies, and English Literature at the University of Kent, and while it may be a random degree I absolutely love it! It also gives me an excuse to try things like stone carving. Like Leah, I really love the outdoors - digging for archaeology, hiking with my family, sailing, and camping are all up there. Last summer I volunteered with a charity that worked with disabled people in gardens, and it was one of the highlights of the summer - being outdoors and watching things grow and thrive is so satisfying. I really enjoy working with people - a warning, I'm very chatty and love a cheesy joke/pun. I have a very self-depreciating humour as I have three sisters and my parents who all keep me humble! I'm looking forward to seeing more of Canada and making fond memories to look back on, with new friends to keep in contact with.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    Leah
    - Drew up plans and built a habit hutch
    - experience working on an "Urban Farm" with vulnerable young adults
    - Fence building (page wire and pallet)
    - childcare (volunteered at kids clubs and I have 2 gorgeous nieces, and one beautiful nephew!)
    - Good team-working and communication skills from 11 years of playing in music groups
    - Some power tool experience

    Jess
    - Enthusiastic and quick learner
    - Team worker
    - I really enjoy planning events - I was the volunteer coordinator for a conference this year
    - Have done some gardening, keen to learn more (worked for a charity)
    - Handy with a shovel (and archaeological trowel)

  • Languages spoken

    Just English alas

  • Age

    22 & 20

  • What else ...

    We would be keen to see a bit of the area and go for hikes (weather permitting), so if you have any good recommendations of places to go hike or can loan us a bike or two we would be very grateful!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both lactose intolerant so preferably less dairy :) And Leah eats plant-based (but can be flexible if this doesn't suit the hosts!)

Photos

Feedback