Chris

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2018 - 30/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    535

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Chris. About 6 months ago I was lucky enough to be granted Permanent Residency in Canada via the skilled worker programme. I'm taking advantage of this amazing opportunity to leave the world of offices and long daily train commutes in London to do what I love to do, travel a beautiful country, meet interesting people, swap stories, learn new skills, embrace the outside world and generally being as useful as I can.
    I love to be active so spend as much time as possible outside either running, walking, hiking, cycling, playing tennis or wandering around a new place. After graduating from university 5 years ago I found myself in Finance based office jobs and although I have been lucky enough to work for some great companies and met some wonderful people I have known for a while that an office is not the environment for me and find myself gravitating towards volunteering projects that involve more hands on manual work with much more human interaction.
    Having worked for 2 years in a commercial kitchen before going to university I have a strong work ethic, I'm a quick learner and willing and eager to give anything a go.
    I like to think of myself as a very easy going person, I'm clean, tidy, respectful to others and their space. I love to chat over a fresh pot of coffee, I have a mainly vegetarian diet but am happy to adapt to whatever diet is preferred in the house (be that meat-based, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free etc) - and am more than happy cooking for anyone and everyone.
    I will be in Toronto from 18th April and am looking for any workaway opportunities from May until September (when I need to go back to England for my best friends wedding), I am hoping to buy a car once I arrive in Toronto and am available to work for as long or as short periods of time as you may need me for.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    For the last year I have been volunteering with Goodgym, an initiative that helps you to stay fit whilst doing good. Every week we run to a local charity/ community project to help with anything from gardening and painting to collecting and packing Christmas care packages. With only a limited time at each project we have to get to work quickly, efficiently and effectively.
    I have a full clean Driving License, I'm hoping to buy a car once I arrive in Toronto. I've been driving for over 10 years (automatic and manual) and a more than comfortable driving vans of various sizes and even the occasional motorbike (although its been a while!)
    I worked as a chef in a gastro pub for over 2 years, an experience that taught me more than school, university and other workplaces combined. It's stressful, intense but really satisfying and 100% worth it when a busy dinner service goes to plan.
    In my spare time I work freelance as a proof reader/ blog writer/editor for a new tech company that is in its infancy.
    I'm great with numbers and know my way round a business plan/ business case having completed a degree in Business Management and having worked in the BBC Worldwide investment team for 3 years.
    I'm about 200cm tall and weigh around 90kg so I'm perfect for any kind of manual labour/ heavy lifting tasks.
    I have regularly looked after children of friends/ cousins/ neighbours.
    My main skill is a willingness to get involved and a good work ethic (as corny as that may sound!)

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I absolutely adore music of most kinds and will happily talk for hours about obscure music from the late 90s/ early 00s.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback