Jennifer

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/07/2019 - 04/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Jennie and I live in Hampshire in the south of England. I'm an introvert by nature (INFP if you're into personality types!) but I have a bit of an adventurous streak, love to travel, to connect with people and hear their stories.

    A few of my travelling highlights have been: orca watching off the coast of Canada and a tour along the Icefield Parkway; going Essaouira, Morocco, soaking in the atmosphere of the souks, going to a Hammam spa and having tea and chats with some lovely local women; and visiting the colosseum and Sistine Chapel in Rome.

    Just now I'm earning money from housekeeping work, including cleaning, ironing, cooking and dog walking. I'm also in the process of self-publishing a novel. As well as my jobs and writing, I am working on developing environmentally friendly toiletries (no palm oil or plastic packaging). I make soap and am working on other alternatives for face wash and hair care. I may even sell some in due course.

    I'm interested in different cultures, history and art. I love animals (one member of my family being an impressively large tabby cat) and being out in nature. I’m also interested in mindfulness and practice meditation.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I used to work as a nursery nurse, then as a nanny, so I have experience of looking after babies and children of different ages. I'm not about to apply to Masterchef or anything but I am used to preparing meals in other people's kitchens, having cooked for a number of families, and I enjoy cooking (and eating . . . though sadly that's not going to count as a skill). I doubt that writing or soap making would be useful skills for work away but I thought I may as well include them in this list.

  • Languages spoken

    English, a little basic French, a few Italian phrases

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    British, European

  • What else ...

    I am interested in visiting places where I can learn new skills and gain knowledge about sustainable, environmentally friendly ways of living as well as any fun, creative pursuits. I'd love to meet interesting people and gain experience in such things as growing vegetables, looking after animals, gardening and making things. I'm afraid my outdoorsy work experience is very limited but I am keen to learn.

    I love visiting places with beautiful scenery (particularly the coast) and places of historical interest. I enjoy films, books, art and music.

    Also, FYI, I am DBS checked.

    At present, I'm not available for long stays as I don't want to take too much time off work. I'm particularly interested in visiting places in the UK, Ireland and France.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat fish and poultry but not other meat. I'm intolerant to too much onion/onion relatives and peppers (capsicum) but can cope with small amounts. I have no food allergies.

Photos

Feedback