Jenni & Ryan

  • Finland & United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (2)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling


    We are in Mexico now. After Mexico, we will be going to Guatemala. We are interested in hiking, hitchhiking, camping, yoga, photographing, surfing, gardening, meditation, making new friends.

  • Description

    Hello!
    Our names are Ryan and Jenni.

    We are an outgoing, and friendly couple always looking for a new adventure, and new friends to share it with. Ryan is from the USA and Jenni is from Finland. We found each other in Cambodia in February of 2020 while volunteering for 3 months in the same hostel. Our love of travel, learning new things, exploring new ideas, meeting new people, and the growth that comes from all of this are just a few of the things that brought us together. Well, I guess I would have to give some credit to COVID shutdowns as well haha!

    We like to travel slow and volunteer so that we can experience different cultures in a more intimate way, use our skills and expertise to make a positive impact on the communities we visit, and gain some knowledge along the way.

    We can offer skills in the following areas:
    -Photography, content creation, social media management, marketing
    -Teaching Yoga, meditation, and facilitating groups
    -General hotel/hostel and restaurant work, entertaining guests, bartending, and serving
    -Teaching English and helping with other school work
    -Gardening, landscape design, and other manual labor activities
    -General construction
    -Animal care and house sitting
    -We also love to learn new skills and would be open to hearing about any projects you believe we could help out with.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Writing
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Ryan: I have worked as a group facilitator for therapy groups as well, and really enjoy doing that. Photography is a passion of mine and I travel with all the necessary equipment to take professional-quality photos. I am still venturing into video. Writing has always been a passion of mine as well, and I love to combine my writing and photography which has led me to do some marketing for different hotels and hostels as I have traveled throughout the years. Although I am not a trained bartender I have volunteered as one many times, and have been known to be sociable and make a place come alive. Like any well-trained man, I can clean and have a few good dishes under my sleeve. I love animals and have cared for many dogs, cats, and even rehabilitated a baby raccoon to be released into the wild. I have my CELTA from Cambridge University for teaching English. My professional work background is in management, construction, and gardening. I really enjoy gardening and landscape/garden design. At one point in my life, I managed a medium-sized nursery for about a year. I am familiar with permaculture, but I am not as well versed in its exact principles, although I would love to learn more about it. I have led teams in the building of commercial greenhouses all across the US, and in the building and renovation of homes in South Florida. Most recently I took part in the construction of a wind farm.

    Jenni: I have a background in dance but I got into yoga around 7 years ago and since then it has become a huge passion and part of my every day. I deepen my knowledge by doing a 200-hour multi-style yoga teacher training in India in October 2020 and I am on my journey to learn more about Yoga as teaching classes during my travels. I have volunteered in various hostels and few resorts in Asia teaching classes on Vinyasa Flow and Yin. I also love exercising and I have organized some fitness classes at one hostel too. In Finland, I worked as a Barista. I love working with people and making sure that customers have the most pleasurable experience they possibly can. While working as a Barista I learned the skills of making various coffees and being a waitress. I have been vegan for 3 years now and vegetarian for even longer. One passion of mine is to cook delicious vegan meals and desserts. I like creating content for social media and currently I have two Instagram accounts that I manage; @wonderlust_with_us and @jennilyydia. There I share my travels and inspire people also to follow their dreams. I am independent, organized, and motivated when it comes to working towards something. I love learning new skills and I always give my best at what I do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Ryan is a CELTA certified English teacher. We are both interested in learning spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22 & 31

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Jenni is vegan, Ryan will eat anything you put in front of him.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback