Ian & Jenifer

  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Chile
    View all
  • Description

    We, Jenifer and Ian, are in our 50s, married for 25 years and live in Trinidad & Tobago. We are avid travelers and love animals (have two rescue dogs of our own), walking, hiking, cycling and new adventures. We are recently semi-retired and are keen to spend more time on slow travel. We enjoy independent and small group travel where you meet lots of interesting people from different backgrounds.

    Ian’s background is in the hospitality industry, but he has owned and run a number of different businesses over the years from a restaurant and bar to a customer service consultancy and is now an active hands-on landlord and property developer. Jenifer is an accountant by profession but makes up for it with her interest in the outdoors, travel, photography and reading! We are experienced house and pet sitters and currently look after the neighbour’s pets while they travel, as they do for us. Ian has several years volunteer experience teaching adult literacy.

    We would love to spend periods of at least 2 weeks to 3 months in different countries, where we can immerse ourselves in the area and community, learning and sharing our skills and labour. We are interested in house sitting, animal care and outdoor work – gardening, harvesting fruit, restaurant work, etc but are happy to help in anyway needed. While older than the average Workawayer, we are young at heart - physically active, easy going and get along well with people of all ages. We respect the fact that we will be staying in your home and will treat it as we would our own.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    - We look after our own property and rental apartments - general maintenance, yard work, gardening, housework
    - Experienced house sitters
    - Experienced in animal care - our own rescue dogs, and pet sitting for others
    - Experienced leading small groups on hikes
    Ian:
    - Experience in hotels, restaurants and bars - kitchen, bar work, table service, interacting with guests, cost control
    - Experience teaching adults
    Jenifer:
    - Accounting, restaurant cost control, administration, computer work (excel, word, data entry, etc)
    - Basic sewing, amateur photography

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    61 & 54

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback