Jack

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/12/2019 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    'Gidday mate!' As we say down under.
    I'm an enthusiastic structural engineer, volunteer firefighter, musician, and now - workawayer, from New Zealand. My girlfriend and I met last year in my home town, Lyttelton, the port of Christchurch, and now we're in this neck of the woods. She's a nurse from Belgium and is now knuckling down and getting back to working full time, so I'm getting out to see some places, meet some new people and put myself to good use. I'm easy going, I have a great attitude towards work (you may have to remind me to stop working), keen to learn, and super social. As far as other personal interests go, I love getting out hiking, snow sports, motorbikes, animals and more.

    I'm primarily looking to be useful in building related activities/labour/general practical work. However I'm open minded to almost anything. Happy to share what I know, listen to what I don't.

    Coming from little New Zealand, I almost don't know where to start traveling, I guess I'm spoilt for choice. So far anything on continental Europe is on the cards. I'm also flexible to any length of stay, short or long, so feel free to ask, looking forward to meeting you all! Cheers, Jack.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    Basic building experience - using power tools, mixing concrete, painting, digging holes. Enjoy good hard work and getting my hands dirty. Ideally I would work under the direction of someone with greater experience, but I'm a quick learner and can be left to do something once instructed.

    Structural engineer is my profession, however unfortunately this does not allow me to practice as a professional engineer on my own. But the background and understanding help with construction related work.

    I am also a volunteer firefighter in New Zealand, so I'm used to hard and heavy work, I also have my heavy vehicle drivers license

    My cooking skills are at the bottom of the list, but I'm confident I can rise to the challenge in any case, all part of the adventure.

    Otherwise, I’m always keen to add new skills to the list

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No dietary requirements, in fact I eat everything but can quickly adapt to a vegetarian/vegan diet as my girlfriend is Vegan

Photos

Feedback