From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/03/2017 - 31/07/2019

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    HI I am Jayne.
    I was born in Shropshire UK and grew up on a farm/ garden center, where we produced and sold vegetables, food and plants. I had horses and dogs most of my life . I attended horticultural college, and made a successful career in landscape gardening. I also did a course at Kew garden in eco conservation.
    I brought up two lovely sons then decided to travel.
    I love travelling and have been to South Africa, Egypt, Greece, Middle East, Germany , Italy, France.
    I went to Spain in 2014,, looking after a family, the gardens, pets, cooking, cleaning and general care.. I travelled around Andalucia ,. I liked Spain so much I decided to stay for a couple years . Since 2015 I have done many workaways, on organic farms caring for animals , food growing, vineyards and fruit harvesting, small building work, building greenhouses out of cane and straw bales, learned farming methods in the campo, dry stone walling. I have done several house / pet sitting jobs which I can provide references for. Also helped in house renovations and painting and decorating.
    I lived with Spanish and Portuguese people, learned how to forage for wild herbs, asparagus and mushrooms, to cook on open olive wood fires, to respect the land, the water and the rich diversity of the countryside. When to plant by the cycle of the moon , when to harvest and when to pray for rain. The mysteries of the land and nature. I know how to appreciate a rewarding and simple way of live from the satisfaction of hard work and then to enjoy a party night !!!
    I work with people of all ages, from all over the world and enjoy their diverse culture .
    I always find there is something new to learn every day and enjoy the experience of meeting new people and friends. I have been a volunteer at a dog rescue ...I also have experience in hospitality and kitchen work, in a hotel in the UK, looking after guests,, some cooking, and met lots of interesting people from all over the world. I did a 3 year course in ceramics, throwing , glazing my own pots. I studied French language, water colour painting and I am learning Spanish.. I love art, music, animals, hiking in the countryside, history, reading books. I have a diploma in English language.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    House sitting. Gardening, landscaping, animal care, horses, dogs, farming, food growing, cooking, hotel / hospitality work, English language. Ceramics. Decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Some Spanish, Some French.

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements